The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hanging installation

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jimtbocacom, Oct 19, 2003.

  1. jimtbocacom

    jimtbocacom Registered
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    I have the following machine I am installing CPanel on:

    Dell 1600SC Dual XEON 2.0Ghz
    1GB RAM
    2 x 120GB IDE Drives

    The partitions are as recommend in cpanel installation docs.

    The installation always hangs at:

    Repairing various problems (this may take awhile)...

    I'm not sure that's the exactly correct wording, but cpanel support should recognize where that part is.

    The install sits there forever and never continues. When doing a ps I see that there is a perl make running.

    Has anyone seen this behaviour?

    Thanks
    Jim
     
  2. mickeymouse

    mickeymouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Dear jimtbocacom,

    Can you be more specific on what version of Cpanel you are installing?. Try to download the Cpanel that best fits your platform and hardware requirements. If you have problem with the current version of Cpanel,then try to install the previous version with quick install and upgrade it to the latest.This might help you to solve your problem.

    Regards,
     
  3. bert

    bert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Weird and interesting. I have been trying to install cPanel on a new machine for two days, it consistently hangs after:

    perl581installer.tar.gz' saved [2515/2515]

    ...Done
    Installing cPanel Specific RPMS../Done


    I have waited 2, 3 and even 4 hours and nothing.
     
  4. kalnet

    kalnet Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes, ive got the same issue's with a debian fresh install, ive found that installing make & gcc before installing cpan makes perl build with limited error's. Im assuming it require's more that that to build correctly, im waiting for Cpanel support to get back to me with a "required software" list
     
  5. WCW Fan

    WCW Fan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I can't even upgrade it stalls on the upgrade for my server it hangs when it says contacting layer2.cpanel.net just sits there forever
     
  6. homeuser55

    homeuser55 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    I glad to see that I’m not the only one experiencing this problem with the install. We did get the layer2 to run but once we logged into whm for the first time we had nothing but problems getting bind and apache to start. So we will wait for cPanel to fix the install and redo it at a later time when it has definitely been fixed.
     
  7. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It stalled when trying to upgrade inside of WHM, i haven't tried since.

    Someone else i know who had the same problem did /scripts/fixeverything and then tried to upgrade from shell and it worked.
     
  8. WCW Fan

    WCW Fan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yep that fixed it :)
     
  9. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    glad to see i helped lol....... now if only people would reply to my posts and help me :( lol
     
  10. homeuser55

    homeuser55 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Thank you damainman. Your command /scripts/fixeverything sure seemed to do the trick. I didn’t know that script was available. Do you know where I can get a list of the scripts available for a red hat 8.0 system with cPanel and what the commands actually do?
     
  11. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  12. homeuser55

    homeuser55 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Thank You so very much :)
     
  13. arrow02

    arrow02 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Install Problems

    Install problems,

    I have been trying to install Cpanel redhat 8 for a couple of days now.

    I have tried to download:
    cd /home;mkdir cpins;cd cpins;wget layer1.cpanel.net/latest;sh latest
    It hangs up after
    perl581installer.tar.gz' saved [2515/2515]...Done
    Installing cPanel Specific RPMS../Done

    So I run /scripts/upcp to get layer2.

    When I login to whm and set it up Apache and Bind do not start.

    I then try what a previous post says:
    (Someone else i know who had the same problem did /scripts/fixeverything and then tried to upgrade from shell and it worked.) With No help..

    I then rebuild Apache with /scripts/easyapache

    Now apache will start and Bind also says it is running in WHM Server Stats.

    When I do a DNS Report I get all kinds of errors like Lame Nameservers, No SOA Records, No cNAMEs for domain.

    What happened to the days when you just downloaded: cd /home;mkdir cpins;cd cpins;wget layer1.cpanel.net/latest;sh latest
    And everything worked great?

    I have tried to download this a couple of different ways with the same results.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  14. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Re: Install Problems

    Are your name servers set up correctly? Have you registered them with you domain registrar? Also it takes about 48 hours for you name servers to update around the internet.
     
  15. arrow02

    arrow02 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Install Problems

    Yes our nameservers are correct and live.
    We have Boxes allready running.
    This is going to just replace an existing Box.
    Thats why I dont understand what the problem is because I have set it up the same way the existing server is running.
     
  16. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hmmm.. i had a problem similar when i first started using cpanel....

    What i did was delete the account, then i went to delete dns zones, found out my domain was still listed.. so i deleted it, then i did a clean dns zones....... restarted bind and apache, and then recreated the account restarted bind and apache again.. and it worked.

    Not sure if your problems are the same mine were, but i was also receiving those dns errors.

    It was wierd because i was able to access server.mydomain.com but was not able to access mydomain.com

    and when i did dns reports for mydomain.com it was showing me lameservers etc.. it was kinda crazy.

    Hmm in you dnsreport look down the whole list and make at every instance of your domain name it shows the correct ip assigned to your domain... when i was having the problem.. the ip that kept appearing multple times were 0.0.0.1 <<no idea why it was displaying that.
     
  17. arrow02

    arrow02 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Install Problems

    Thanks for your help,

    I would like to try something different and maybe you can help.

    I would like to install an earlier version of layer2 but I am not sure what the download url is would you happen to know?

    I thought it would be something like: wget layer2.cpanel.net/8.5.3-STABLE_3;sh 8.5.3-STABLE_3

    But that just gives me file not found error.

    Do you happen to know the correct url?

    Thanks again for all your help.
     
Loading...

Share This Page