The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hard Drive Added after Install

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rkm11, Jul 18, 2008.

  1. rkm11

    rkm11 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    We added a 300GB hard drive to our server (there is a 250GB as primary). It was added after the cPanel installer was run, but cPanel was not setup (the left column).

    We mounted it under /home2 and now when we make an account it goes to /home2. I checked to rearrange the accounts, but it only shows the home2 mount point.

    How do I get cPanel to use our /home directory as well (which does exist)?

    Thanks,
    Ryan
     
  2. chopperb

    chopperb Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Go to WHM->Basic cPanel/WHM Setup->Default Home Directory. Make sure it says /home
     
  3. rkm11

    rkm11 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yes its /home and below it:

    Home Directory Prefix: home

    Any ideas?

    Thanks
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cPanel/WHM will default to the partition with more available disk space.
     
  5. chopperb

    chopperb Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    How much space is availabe on /home? If its not enough cpanel will use /home2
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is /home a partition or just a directory?
     
  7. rkm11

    rkm11 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Its a new install, only one site and rvskin account. So there is enough space. It doesn't list the /home in the rearrange.
     
    #7 rkm11, Jul 18, 2008
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2008
  8. rkm11

    rkm11 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Home is just a directory.

    Well I still cant rearrange it to the /home directory. Just shows /home2 in the list.

    Thanks,
    Ryan
     
  9. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    As far as I know, it will only work with partitions (contrary to the verbiage in WHM).
     
  10. lauer

    lauer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same problem here!

    Hi

    I have same problem. After a few months the / are being filled op, and I have added a new hardware and mounted it with lvm and ext3 to /home2

    But it doesn't show up any places.

    Do anybody have a good idea?
     
  11. goodmove

    goodmove Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Is it possible to use the /home and /home2 partitions, both having free space, at will, such as assigning a package to either of the partitions?
     
  12. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can use the rearrange accounts button to move accounts among partitions. However, since cPanel/WHM will use the drive with the most available disk space (to avoid unnecessarily filling a partition), this cannot be set on a per-package setting.

    Keep in mind the system administration headaches incurred by a partition becoming full (for example, as users consume more of their allocated disk quota).
     
Loading...

Share This Page