The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Has anyone done cloud with cpanel?

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by DWHS.net, Mar 18, 2010.

  1. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I would love if someone would share the best configuration for a cloud set up with cpanel. Can this be done with centos 5?
     
  2. rnawky

    rnawky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I would not recommend it for a few reasons.

    First off, most, if not all "cloud" services only allow 1 IP address per machine, making it impossible for any account on your cPanel install to have a dedicated IP address.

    If you DO, I suggest either Amazon EC2 or GoGrid, stay away from Rackspace.

    Reason behind that is god forbid your instance goes down, for whatever reason. When you manage to restart it, you'll get a randomly assigned IP address, messing up your entire setup. Amazon EC2 and GoGrid let you keep your IP addresses, so it's not as much as a problem.

    Finally, just the large cost behind cloud setups would almost make it more efficient to go ahead and buy a dedicated server.

    Just my $0.02

    But if you really want to try, I suggest using the cPanel trial on a VPS from GoGrid or Amazon EC2 and see how it goes.
     
  3. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks, but if we used cloud we would set up our own servers. We are a multi data center owner and run all of our own servers.

    I was hoping someone has set up cloud servers personally from the ground up with cpanel.

    I am aware of the IP issue, we would just move the customer to a shared server if they need a dedicated IP.

    Thanks again.
     
  4. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    DWHS.net, I setup and manage Cpanel servers on quite a few cloud networks all the time (every day in fact) and have done so for quite a long time and it works very well and in fact may be the perfect ideal environment for Cpanel just given the many advantages that cloud computing has over both traditional VPS and dedicated servers.

    In fact at this very moment, I'm working in another window helping a client with the security hardening for a new cloud server that they had purchased from one of the major cloud provider's earlier this evening.


    ********

    No personal offense meant to rnawky but he has some pretty strange ideas about cloud computing because almost everything he said in his post regarding clouds is completely and absolutely 100% wrong!

    I am well familiar and experienced with all the cloud providers out there and work very closely with many of them first hand and I don't know any at all that would limit you from setting up as many IPs as you require and taking that a step further, all of them will also additionally let you upgrade and add IP addresses to your server at anytime as you require for your cloud server as well!

    Huh? *PUZZLED* Where in the world did you get that goofball idea? :rolleyes:

    Uhm --- no --- IP addresses are not "randomly assigned" in clouds and
    you can go and turn your server off and on and off and on, move your server to new hardware elsewhere in the cloud network it is located in, go back and forth and all over the place in that network and your IP is not going to change any at all!

    Same goes when you reload your server from scratch as well!

    None of that is going to have any bearing on your server's IPs at all!

    --- not unless you yourself are doing something very seriously wrong! ;)

    For the record, IP allocation on clouds is exactly the same as dedicated servers and the only time you get assigned a new IP is at the time that server is created new for the very first time much the same as you need to allocate a new IP server to dedicated servers when you first set them up and just like a dedicated server where you may move it around physically in a data center and keep the same IP address, the very same goes for cloud servers as well an operationally from an end user perspective, there is no differences there whatsoever!
    With the very rare exception (mainly those running hybrid networks), most of the cloud servers out there are actually priced very competitively against VPS servers and very nearly all of them are substantially **LESS** in cost than going with a competing and comparable dedicated server and you also have the further benefit of often getting better performance from the cloud as well!
     
  5. MadysonBelinda

    MadysonBelinda Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is it possible to install Cpanel on the Rackspace Cloud Server? I was about to get dedicated but I'm not sure if something like Cloud Server wouldn't be better, because I can start small and if I want to upgrade to bigger server with 16GB of ram I just click upgrade. Seems to be hassle free.
    Did anyone installed cpanel on cloud servers?
     
  6. tuk485

    tuk485 Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm running cpanel on rackspace cloud with no issues.

    I've also had it running on Amazons EC2 but as the network interface is Nat'ed cpanel likes to bind to the internal IP so I have to run a cron that changes all the vhost config from that internal IP to the external one. I also had to disable the cpanel cron that checks the ip configuration as it was changing it back again and taking all the sites down :-(

    Cost wise its more effective to run with rackspace at the moment.

    Backups on both platforms are easy to do and can be restored in 30 seconds.
     
  7. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi,

    It is possible and depends on how you want to setup the same.

    We have instances where we have SAN boxes, being exported as iscsi targets and front end servers running xen on them. VPS's are deployed on demand on hosts machines, and all the underline OS would be physically on the SAN boxes.

    For redundancy SAN boxes either the SAN box could be running min raid 10, or have 2 boxes in HA mode.

    Hope it helps :)
     
  8. abdobasha2004

    abdobasha2004 Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    holy cow !!
    cloud hosting is complicated !
     
  9. storminternet

    storminternet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Cloud hosting is not too complicated. It is simply designed to achieve maximum up-time with stable performance.
    The downtime due to hardware failure is not experienced in cloud hosting as vpses automatically moves to another server in case if any server goes down for any reason like hardware failure, reboot etc.
     
  10. mjdj1999

    mjdj1999 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Fannett, Texas, United States
    I purchased a Rackspace account and installed cPanel with no issues. There was an issue getting port 80 opened but was resolved quickly by their support. I have to say those guys go above and beyond on support!

    I would also like to mention that I am new at this and this was my first time installing cpanel. It was very easy. If you can install Microsoft Office on your home computer then you can do this. I looked into Amazons EC2 and it is very expensive compared to Rackspace. I will not be going that route.

    My current setup is 256 Ram, 10 Gb HD with 2 dedicated IP addresses and it's working fine.

    Keep in mind, I have NEVER done this before and I had 100% success with it!
     
    #10 mjdj1999, Jan 12, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2012
  11. jgillmanjr

    jgillmanjr Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Lansing, MI
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I just stumbled onto this thread, and I would say jimsohan probably said it the best.

    "Cloud computing" can vary between providers. For example, some may utilize VMWare and some kind of SAN storage back end, allowing the instance to flow around so a single box failing isn't going to down it.

    On the other hand, others may utilize KVM or Xen and local storage with a provisioning system that automates the creation/destruction/resizing/backups/etc of instances. In this case, a hardware failure *may* affect the instance, although there are usually methodologies to transfer the instance to another parent.
     
  12. clk320

    clk320 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    tuk485,

    I am trying to get cPanel going on Amazon EC2 (the prices have gone way down) and I just can't make it get going. See my problem here http://forums.cpanel.net/f5/step-step-instructions-configuring-whm-nat-263441.html

    Is it possible to share the exact steps how to handle the configuration? I am not afraid of experimenting and learning new stuff, but at this point have hit a really solid brick wall.

    Thanks!
     
  13. TopCatHost

    TopCatHost Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Passaic N.J. USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I am pretty new to using VPS, however I did sign up for a cloud server. I think part of "the elusive cloud definition" is scalability, along with redundancy. Even though I have not been active in using the technology, I have been "cutting my teeth" using cPanel/WHM.

    From what I have learned where Xen virtualization may be deliberately "stingy with sharing available resources" Cloud Linux is about load balancing so one "Virtual Machine" will not allow the entire system to suffer a death blow hit!

    From what I have read, Cloud Linux due to it's load balancing methods is the ideal counterpart to "A true Cloud Set-up" the general idea behind the cloud, as I understand it, is that its designed to withstand the peaks or spikes in usage. My theoretical understanding of the cloud at the moment may surpass my actual experience.

    Questions:

    Currently I have:

    + CPUs: x 2
    + RAM [MB]: x 768
    + Disk Size [GB]: x 25
    + Bandwidth: x 25
    + IP Addresses: x 4
    + OS Template: CentOS 5.6


    I realize the disk size seems low, and the Ram could be much higher, however is going to be enough as it is to run Cloud Linux along with cPanel (optimized for VHS/Whm) I am looking at costs very carefully yet I am thinking that cPanel is going to keep a significant share of the Cloud business.

    If resources being this low- is going to be on ongoing problem, then perhaps I could get some minimums (with comfortable latitude or margin for error.

    I was thinking of a set that would allow for as many a 100 customers (as a reseller) all of whom would be "un-optimized" WordPress Websites, with all its downside including having an over abundance of Plug-ins.

    I ask these questions because I found that when you buy a custom cloud (like I did) I got in with a low price, but get "hit hard" with upgrades.


    It may be worthwhile to start over with a preconfigure set-up, that might cost twice as much initially, but be cheaper in the long run:

    Resource Needed for a Very Stable Cloud- Reseller Featuring:

    cPanel, VPS (Optimized), Cloud Linux, Fantastico,- Host Bill Or WHMCS or Onapp


    CPUs # or -(GHz)
    RAM MB:
    Disk Size
    Back-up Disk Size:
    Bandwidth: [ This one number amazes me in that the "custom installation says I have 25 GB Bandwidth ] which from the perspective of a consumer (where companies routinely "throttle usage" or even discontinue accounts, for "excessive use" - even though the all claim unlimited bandwidth and storage!?!

    For Example if I had gone "pre-configured I would have gotten:


    Dedicated CPU: 1.2Ghz
    Dedicated RAM: 752MB
    Disk Space: 20GB
    Network Transfer: 2TB

    Two Terabytes! versus 25 GB ? ( for approx the same price?)...

    [ But then would they allow up-grading ?? ]

    I think the Bandwidth of 2 TB means that you are hooked into the SAN right? Does that mean with mine, and 25 GB, that I am not, hooked in to SAN?

    Thats when I think the Cloud is more "marketing" than technology!
     
Loading...

Share This Page