The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Has anyone sucessfully built apache 2.2 on the current edge build?

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by cts, Mar 21, 2007.

  1. cts

    cts Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Have a user with a requirement for apache 2.2.3 and so far have not been able to get a working copy on the current edge with the cpanel easy apache.

    Any hints would be appreciated.
     
  2. WEB-PROS

    WEB-PROS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have managed but with only Bare Bones configuration and a very low version of PHP.
     
  3. panayot

    panayot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have been running apache 2.2 on 3 servers for couple of months without problems. I build it without php support and then compile my own php. Also in easyapache you have to tell it to leave the build even if there are errors from postcheck. Otherwise it will try to revert to old apache. Usually there are some entries in httpd.conf like mod_security that confuse easyapache and it thinks that upgrade was unsuccessful. All you have to do is run: service httpd configtest and fix manually the problems that apache reports.
     
  4. SoftDux

    SoftDux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    but does this mean that you need to manually update any other software related to Apache / PHP? I suppose if you use the easyapache scripts, it would break your setup?
     
  5. panayot

    panayot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    No, I just build apache with easyapache. And I build php myself because I run it with mod_fcgid. easyapache sets up cpanel to use the new httpd.conf format and everything works like it should. I would suggest that it is best to install new apache on a new server so you can start with small number of accounts.
     
  6. MN-Robert

    MN-Robert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Apache2 and apache 2.0 through easyapache fails to build php even on minimal builds. It's crap
     
  7. carluk

    carluk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Try using a default httpd.conf to see how that goes.
     
  8. MN-Robert

    MN-Robert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    We tried it on a brand spanking new machine Carl :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page