The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Having a problem..

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by inigohosting, Apr 9, 2005.

  1. inigohosting

    inigohosting Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    When I try to go to my hostname spook.inigohost.com it won't resolve. I don't get the annoying add a hostname popup in WHM but my hostname still doesn't resolve. I've looked over my /etc/hosts but it's alright. I've reset bind but still get the same error. I'm really running out ideas, anyone got any?
     
  2. Murtaza_t

    Murtaza_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Well there are several reasons for hostname not resolving. Check the following :

    1. Check if your domain (inigohost.com) resolves properly.
    2. Check the /etc/hosts to have following entry :

    xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx spook.inigohost.com spook LOCALHOST LOCALHOST

    3. Check if /etc/sysconfig/network for :

    NETWORKING=yes
    HOSTNAME=spook.inigohost.com

    4. Check if there is a VirtualHost Entry in your httpd.cong as :

    <VirtualHost xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx>
    BytesLog domlogs/LOCALHOST-bytes_log
    ServerName spook.inigohost.com
    DocumentRoot /usr/local/apache/htdocs
    </VirtualHost>

    If the above all is ok then I dont think there might be some other reason for a hostname not resolving.
     
  3. inigohosting

    inigohosting Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks alot. I've tried all of it and nothing worked. I was also thinking it could be something else but what?
     
  4. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. inigohosting

    inigohosting Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yeah but that DNS for that domain is on another server. So that report would help would it?
     
Loading...

Share This Page