Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Having a problem..

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by inigohosting, Apr 9, 2005.

  1. inigohosting

    inigohosting Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    When I try to go to my hostname spook.inigohost.com it won't resolve. I don't get the annoying add a hostname popup in WHM but my hostname still doesn't resolve. I've looked over my /etc/hosts but it's alright. I've reset bind but still get the same error. I'm really running out ideas, anyone got any?
     
  2. Murtaza_t

    Murtaza_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Earth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Well there are several reasons for hostname not resolving. Check the following :

    1. Check if your domain (inigohost.com) resolves properly.
    2. Check the /etc/hosts to have following entry :

    xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx spook.inigohost.com spook LOCALHOST LOCALHOST

    3. Check if /etc/sysconfig/network for :

    NETWORKING=yes
    HOSTNAME=spook.inigohost.com

    4. Check if there is a VirtualHost Entry in your httpd.cong as :

    <VirtualHost xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx>
    BytesLog domlogs/LOCALHOST-bytes_log
    ServerName spook.inigohost.com
    DocumentRoot /usr/local/apache/htdocs
    </VirtualHost>

    If the above all is ok then I dont think there might be some other reason for a hostname not resolving.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. inigohosting

    inigohosting Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Thanks alot. I've tried all of it and nothing worked. I was also thinking it could be something else but what?
     
  4. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,366
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. inigohosting

    inigohosting Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Yeah but that DNS for that domain is on another server. So that report would help would it?
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice