The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Having to manually restart httpd for addon domain

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Tam, Dec 7, 2008.

  1. Tam

    Tam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Looking for pointers ont his one ...

    each time an addon domain is added via a cPanel account it is showing the default Apache Success page, a manual httpd restart solves this (the site shows up correctly after that) but this is obviously not desirable.

    Any suggestions gratefully received.

    thanks in advance.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,469
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    cPanel up to date?
     
  3. Tam

    Tam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes, /scripts/upcp --force has been run.
     
  4. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Please check the CPanel error logs if you find anything there.

    The path is /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_logs
     
  5. Tam

    Tam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    4 repetitve errors ...

    Mon Dec 8 11:23:22 2008 info [bin/parkadmin.pl]: Global NS entry #2 is not a valid domain
    Mon Dec 8 11:23:22 2008 info [bin/parkadmin.pl]: Global NS entry #3 is not a valid domain
    Mon Dec 8 11:23:22 2008 info [bin/parkadmin.pl]: reseller NS entry #2 is not a valid domain
    Mon Dec 8 11:23:22 2008 info [bin/parkadmin.pl]: reseller NS entry #3 is not a valid domain

    the domain is of-course valid but is hosted on another server and the DNS zone on this server reflects precisely what is on the other server.
     
  6. Tam

    Tam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Given that this occurs with any reseller/user account I doubt it is not nameserver related. Instead it could be apache related - from the apache error log when adding an addon domain ...

    [Mon Dec 08 14:47:42 2008] [notice] Graceful restart requested, doing restart
    [Mon Dec 08 14:47:42 2008] [error] (9)Bad file descriptor: apr_socket_accept: (client socket)
    [Mon Dec 08 14:47:42 2008] [error] (9)Bad file descriptor: apr_socket_accept: (client socket)
    [Mon Dec 08 14:47:42 2008] [error] (9)Bad file descriptor: apr_socket_accept: (client socket)
    [Mon Dec 08 14:47:42 2008] [error] (9)Bad file descriptor: apr_socket_accept: (client socket)
    [Mon Dec 08 14:47:42 2008] [error] (9)Bad file descriptor: apr_socket_accept: (client socket)
    [Mon Dec 08 14:47:42 2008] [error] (9)Bad file descriptor: apr_socket_accept: (client socket)
    [Mon Dec 08 14:47:42 2008] [error] (9)Bad file descriptor: apr_socket_accept: (client socket)
    [Mon Dec 08 14:47:42 2008] [error] (9)Bad file descriptor: apr_socket_accept: (client socket)
    [Mon Dec 08 14:47:42 2008] [error] (9)Bad file descriptor: apr_socket_accept: (client socket)
    [Mon Dec 08 14:47:42 2008] [error] (9)Bad file descriptor: apr_socket_accept: (client socket)
    [Mon Dec 08 14:47:46 2008] [notice] mod_bw : Memory Allocated 0 bytes (each conf takes 28 bytes)
    [Mon Dec 08 14:47:46 2008] [notice] mod_bw : Version 0.8 - Initialized [0 Confs]
    [Mon Dec 08 14:47:46 2008] [notice] Apache/2.2.10 (Unix) mod_ssl/2.2.10 OpenSSL/0.9.8b mod_auth_passthrough/2.1 mod_bwlimited/1.4 FrontPage/5.0.2.2635 mod_perl/2.0.4 Perl/v5.8.8 configured -- resuming normal operations
     
    #6 Tam, Dec 8, 2008
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2008
  7. Server-Rack

    Server-Rack Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Given Up on Add-On Domains

    This is probably not the solution you were looking for but, you may consider getting a reseller account at the web host of your choice. Pricing is very competitive now and your site may do better standing on its own. This may uncomplicate things for you.

    - Rick
     
  8. Tam

    Tam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    We've been supplying reseller accounts for years, and this is occuring on a dedicated server of ours.
     
  9. Tam

    Tam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Seems to be a bug with Apache MPM prefork and graceful restarts according to https://issues.apache.org/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=42829

    Can cpanel confirm if the patch is/will be included in easyapache?

    I'm going to try rebuilding apache without prefork to see if it is still an issue.
     
  10. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    A patch will only be commited to EasyApache once the Apache project is satisfied with the quality of the patches. At this time the best work around is to use Apache 2.0.

    Some information about this is available at http://www.cpanel.net/support/docs/ea/ea3/faq_child_g_status.html
     
  11. Tam

    Tam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks very much Kenneth, much appreciated.

    Removing prefork didn't resolve it anyway and I've also read somewhere else that mod_ssl can cause the issue but we cannot do without that. Anyway, Apache 2.0 doesn't have the issue, thanks very much for that.
     
  12. Tam

    Tam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    grrr, rolling back to apache 2.0.63 did solve the issue last night but now the same problem returns, no error showing in the apache error log though :mad:
     
  13. acenetryan

    acenetryan Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I, too, am having this same issue.

    I am not experiencing the Apache errors that Tam mentioned, but I do see this in my cPanel error_log:

    I don't believe this is necessarily related to the Apache bug you've referenced. We have been running Apache/2.0.63 for months now. It has just come to my attention today that several users of ours were contacting us every other week or so asking for an Apache restart after they add their domains. Different techs were receiving the requests and didn't realize it was a recurring issue.

    This issue seems to be global to all users, though I have so far only tested 2 users specifically.
     
  14. acenetryan

    acenetryan Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Apache doesn't seem to add the domain and then restart in the correct order. We don't have a problem with Apache restarting or the proper entries being added, so we have a suggestion for a temporary fix.

    Clients can add the domain they want to add first. Apache will restart and the entry will be in the httpd.conf but it will not be in the running config. Then, add a fake domain. Apache will be restarted with the first domain now in effect, but the fake domain won't. Remove the fake domain.

    Still inconvenient, but not as inconvenient as having to contact us for restarts.

    I'll be running a forced cPanel update to see if it corrects this issue and then filing a ticket with cPanel. Updates to follow.
     
  15. acenetryan

    acenetryan Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
  16. Tam

    Tam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Wise course of action, tbh if it was a bug with graceful restart then restarting httpd through WHM would also have the same outcome and that is not the case.
     
  17. Epademic

    Epademic Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Just experienced this same issue. Did get any resolution to your ticket?
     
  18. acenetryan

    acenetryan Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Just got one about 40 minutes ago. cPanel devs provided me with a new /usr/local/cpanel/bin/parkadmin binary. It seems to have fixed the issue. They stated it was not yet provided in public releases. You may have to file a ticket to get a copy of the binary.
     
Loading...

Share This Page