Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

! hd failed need help on restore

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by petfut, May 12, 2005.

  1. petfut

    petfut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    I have faced with hda failure and support staff have installed new hda with fresh Fedora 2 installed on it and cpanel/whm also.

    Please can anyone help to restore users from old drive to new one.
    I had made daily backups to hdb, but I cant get whm to restore:

    Backup is not enabled. If you are trying to restore a crashed system, please set backup to "Restore Only"


    And when I do what is asked:

    /backup is not a directory..
    Backup has been disabled to prevent file loss..
    /backup does not exist..
    Backup has been disabled to prevent file loss..
    Backup Configuration Saved
     
    #1 petfut, May 12, 2005
    Last edited: May 12, 2005
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,724
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    you need to mount the drive where your backups are??
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #2 dalem, May 12, 2005
    Last edited: May 12, 2005
  3. s_2_s

    s_2_s Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    May God be with you while you are recovering your data
    its really so bad luck
    i hope you can solve it fast
    use whm to mount the Hard Disk as /backup
    then you should be able to restore accounts
    if you can acceess the olf hdd fine but you can't restore the accounts then copy the backups to your /home directory and batch restore them
    really wish you luck
    if you need any help just PM
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Be careful using WHM to mount the backup disk (i.e. don't use the Format/Mount a new Hard Drive option or it will wipe it clean. You need to determine which partition the backups are on:

    fdisk -ul /dev/hdb (or whatever it is allocated in dmesg)

    Then create a mount point:

    mkdir /backup

    Then mount it:

    mount /dev/hdb3 /old

    You'll need to add an entry in /etc/fstab if you want to keep it mounted after boot.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice