The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HDD Issue?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by nerdzoll, Mar 22, 2005.

  1. nerdzoll

    nerdzoll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey all,
    In WHM under the Server Information tab, the following is displayed for hda:
    hda: max request size: 128KiB
    hda: Host Protected Area detected.
    hda: task_no_data_intr: status=0x51 { DriveReady SeekComplete Error }
    hda: task_no_data_intr: error=0x04 { DriveStatusError }
    hda: 78125000 sectors (40000 MB) w/2048KiB Cache, CHS=65535/16/63, UDMA(100)
    hda: cache flushes not supported

    should I be worried about this or is this no problem? I do not want my HDD to fail me all of a sudden :(

    Any help would be appreciated.
    Cheers
    Nerdzoll
     
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    How many errors are you getting in your logwatch email
    a manual FSCK may correct
     
  3. nerdzoll

    nerdzoll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    There do not seem to be any hdd errors in the logwatch email..
    and what is an FSCK and how do I run it?
    Cheers
    Nerdzoll
     
  4. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    If you dont have a remote consol or physical access to your server your data center will have to run it for you If you have not seen this error in your logs your hard drive is most likly fine
     
  5. nerdzoll

    nerdzoll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    access

    Hi dalem,
    thanks for all your help. I have remote root SSH access to the server. So I am assuming that will sacrifise.
    Is the command to run just fsck or do I need to add some switches?
    Cheers.
    Nerdzoll
     
  6. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    ssh will not work our it is not advisable you would want someone watching the progress as after it runs the server may need to be power cycled it it takes 10 to 45 minutes to run and durring that time you would have no accecess i would nerver try and run it that way

    you can run this comand to see if you have any drive problems

    badblocks /dev/yourhd
     
  7. __arjun__

    __arjun__ Guest

    have u tried /scripts/smatcheck

    if its giving excessive errors .. go for a HD replace :)
     
  8. nerdzoll

    nerdzoll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi __arjun__,
    I have just attempted that and there do not seem to be any errors at all..
    Mind you I am having the server re-installed in the next week or two and I will get them to check the HDD then...
    Thanks for the heads up tho.
    Cheers
    Nerdzoll
     
Loading...

Share This Page