The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELLLP Cpanel down for whole server

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by AbeFroman, Feb 21, 2003.

  1. AbeFroman

    AbeFroman BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    I can get cpanel to work for anyone on the server, also many cgi scripts wont run.

    http://mbsite.com/cpanel

    It give me a 500 error
     
  2. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    It looks like apache is not doing the redirect. If you goto http://mbsite.com:2082 you get the login screen.

    Try restarting apache. And see if that helps, plus check to see that ScriptAlias /cpanel /usr/local/cpanel/base/redirect.cgi exists in the httpd.conf file.
     
  3. AbeFroman

    AbeFroman BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    help

    I tried restarting apache and make sure i had taht line
    but it is still down.

    Alias /neo-images/ /usr/local/cpanel/base/neomail/neo-images/
    ScriptAliasMatch /cpanel/(.*) /usr/local/cpanel/base/redirect.cgi
    ScriptAlias /cpanel /usr/local/cpanel/base/redirect.cgi
     
  4. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Is there anything in the apache error_log or in /usr/local/cpanel/logs/ files?
     
  5. AbeFroman

    AbeFroman BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't even get a simple perl file to run...
    http://mbsite.com/cgi-bin/test.pl


    This is the code....
    #!/usr/bin/perl

    print "Content-type: text/html\n\n";
    print "Test";
     
  6. AbeFroman

    AbeFroman BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I fixed it

    I adjusted the ammount of ram/cpu that apache will dedicated to any process. I decreased it too much...
     
  7. AbeFroman

    AbeFroman BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    cpanel is seriously cpu/ram hungry
     
  8. web12

    web12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi

    Can I ask how you did this?

    I have been having the same problems, where no cgi/perl scripts will run at all, including the redirect.cgi script for Cpanel.

    The error logs become full with:-

    [Fri Feb 21 11:18:16 2003] [error] [client 11.222.33.44] (24)Too many open files: couldn't spawn child process: /home/client/public_html/file.cgi

    Is this the same as you have been having and now fixed?

    Thanks
     
  9. web12

    web12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    this has just happened again to my server... Anyone got any clue what might be causing it?
     
  10. parhelic

    parhelic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm having the same problem with /cpanel not working...

    The error_log shows:

    [Fri Mar 21 15:23:38 2003] [error] [client xx.xx.xxx.xxx] Premature end of script headers: /usr/local/cpanel/base/redirect.cgi
    [Fri Mar 21 15:23:38 2003] [error] [client xx.xx.xxx.xxx] File does not exist: /usr/local/apache/htdocs/500.shtml

    Any clues?
     
  11. web12

    web12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well,

    You might find this strange... I did... but I recompiled Apache on that server and upgraded to PHP 4.3.1 and I never heard a peep out of it again!.

    Not sure if that was a fix or just a fluke, but hey, its worth a try.
     
  12. web12

    web12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    by the way, i forgot to mention...

    /scripts/easyapache to do the above.
     
  13. LS_Drew

    LS_Drew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If you're using rlimits remove them and that should fix this.

    It seems that the powers that be here have deemed that Cpanel must take up like 99% of the processor power each time a user opens thier page.

    Therefore, if you're using any kind of rlimit you'll get a 500 error. Nice eh? We've been loving it too. Thanks guys! Cpanel6 rocks!
     
Loading...

Share This Page