The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hello everyone cannot login to WHM / Cpanel but can ssh fine

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kev123, Oct 27, 2006.

  1. kev123

    kev123 Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    this software is so freakin buggy

    well yesterday I did a update apache from within WHM in hopes of installing GD for images

    well today I cannot login to my server via http cpanel interface

    after the login screen comes up and I enter my password, the process repeats itself as if i entered the wrong password

    I am able to login via SSH as root and ran ./scripts/upcp --force as I saw on another forum that this could possibly fix my issue

    while the script was running I noticed this scroll by highlighted in red

    "!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!cPanel Auto Heal 2.4 Running !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Processing heal of https://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla....cgi?id=171178
    Waiting for yum to finish....Could not find update match for bind-libs"

    I dont think that has anything to do with my issue

    however i still cannot access cpanel

    my sites are up and look to be running fine and I can ligin to SSH fine

    but no WHM / Cpanel

    any ideas help apreciated


    -------Kevin
     
  2. mambovince

    mambovince Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London, UK
    Do 'service cpanel restart' from the shell to restart cpanel service.
    I hope this helps.

    - Vince
     
  3. ujr

    ujr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Have you tried looking at your error logs?

    is port 2082 not binding? run:

    /usr/local/cpanel/cpsrvd

    and watch your logs:
    tail -f /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_logs
     
  4. kev123

    kev123 Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ok after i reuilt apache with option 1

    the cpanel system ran for a while

    but now it has crash and is demostrating the same behavior as before
     
  5. niatech

    niatech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Are you running CentOS?
     
  6. niatech

    niatech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I had a problem similar to your "bind-libs" problem, but that did not keep me from logging in.

    For "bind-libs", I had to upgrade my kernel as the bind-libs update was looking for a "kernel-" related RPM.

    Your logging in issue may have something to do with CPanel's SSL services. I had an issue similar to this before where the some SSL services were not properly shutting down.

    Take a look at this thread:

    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=56418&highlight=https

    Ciao
     
  7. codegirl42

    codegirl42 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    having the same issues today....what the heck.
     
  8. FSU1

    FSU1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm having the same problem with my Cpanel server also. Have tried

    'service cpanel restart'

    checking the error logs, etc...

    I read the thread niatech mentioned and my version already has the stunnel4.15 fix..


    What is going on???
     
  9. hexstar

    hexstar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Internet
    looks like your post is buggy too :rolleyes:

    Not Found

    The requested URL /bugzilla....cgi was not found on this server.
    Apache/2.0.52 (Red Hat) Server at bugzilla.redhat.com Port 443

    Not Found

    The requested URL /bugzilla.cgi was not found on this server.
    Apache/2.0.52 (Red Hat) Server at bugzilla.redhat.com Port 443
     
  10. anushkumar

    anushkumar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Looks like you are on a VPS for me. Are you?

    If yes, you have to contact your VPS provider and ask them to increase either inodes or iptent on your VPS.

    If you are on a dedicated box, you have to consider checking this with your apache limits and perform an UPCP
     

Share This Page