Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Hello everyone cannot login to WHM / Cpanel but can ssh fine

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kev123, Oct 27, 2006.

  1. kev123

    kev123 Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    this software is so freakin buggy

    well yesterday I did a update apache from within WHM in hopes of installing GD for images

    well today I cannot login to my server via http cpanel interface

    after the login screen comes up and I enter my password, the process repeats itself as if i entered the wrong password

    I am able to login via SSH as root and ran ./scripts/upcp --force as I saw on another forum that this could possibly fix my issue

    while the script was running I noticed this scroll by highlighted in red

    "!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!cPanel Auto Heal 2.4 Running !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Processing heal of https://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla....cgi?id=171178
    Waiting for yum to finish....Could not find update match for bind-libs"

    I dont think that has anything to do with my issue

    however i still cannot access cpanel

    my sites are up and look to be running fine and I can ligin to SSH fine

    but no WHM / Cpanel

    any ideas help apreciated


    -------Kevin
     
  2. mambovince

    mambovince Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    London, UK
    Do 'service cpanel restart' from the shell to restart cpanel service.
    I hope this helps.

    - Vince
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. ujr

    ujr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Have you tried looking at your error logs?

    is port 2082 not binding? run:

    /usr/local/cpanel/cpsrvd

    and watch your logs:
    tail -f /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_logs
     
  4. kev123

    kev123 Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    ok after i reuilt apache with option 1

    the cpanel system ran for a while

    but now it has crash and is demostrating the same behavior as before
     
  5. niatech

    niatech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Are you running CentOS?
     
  6. niatech

    niatech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    I had a problem similar to your "bind-libs" problem, but that did not keep me from logging in.

    For "bind-libs", I had to upgrade my kernel as the bind-libs update was looking for a "kernel-" related RPM.

    Your logging in issue may have something to do with CPanel's SSL services. I had an issue similar to this before where the some SSL services were not properly shutting down.

    Take a look at this thread:

    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=56418&highlight=https

    Ciao
     
  7. codegirl42

    codegirl42 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    having the same issues today....what the heck.
     
  8. FSU1

    FSU1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    I'm having the same problem with my Cpanel server also. Have tried

    'service cpanel restart'

    checking the error logs, etc...

    I read the thread niatech mentioned and my version already has the stunnel4.15 fix..


    What is going on???
     
  9. hexstar

    hexstar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Internet
    looks like your post is buggy too :rolleyes:

    Not Found

    The requested URL /bugzilla....cgi was not found on this server.
    Apache/2.0.52 (Red Hat) Server at bugzilla.redhat.com Port 443

    Not Found

    The requested URL /bugzilla.cgi was not found on this server.
    Apache/2.0.52 (Red Hat) Server at bugzilla.redhat.com Port 443
     
  10. anushkumar

    anushkumar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    158
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Looks like you are on a VPS for me. Are you?

    If yes, you have to contact your VPS provider and ask them to increase either inodes or iptent on your VPS.

    If you are on a dedicated box, you have to consider checking this with your apache limits and perform an UPCP
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice