The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hello, just a quick question before I buy...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Trevor, May 8, 2002.

  1. Trevor

    Trevor Registered

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well, even though I e-mailed support about this, it's often a good idea to post it in two areas...

    I just wanted to know,

    When I'm running WHM and offering CPanel to my virtual hosting customers, do I HAVE to give out a unique IP with every account? It's an extra expense to get unique ips... I'm hoping that I can just run 1 ip per server and only offer a unique ip as an add-on (with add-on fee).
     
  2. awsol

    awsol cPanel Test Bitch

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boston MA
    Yes you can create account with or without IPs. This is up to you. Some servers only have 1 ip. So this will work perfect for you.
     
  3. Trevor

    Trevor Registered

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How does that work with the other features like .com domain hosting and ftp accounts etc? ... Can my customers still host their .coms and FTP accounts if I have only one IP?
     
  4. awsol

    awsol cPanel Test Bitch

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boston MA
    Yes they will work fine. They are called virtual accounts. They will not notice any difference.
     
  5. Trevor

    Trevor Registered

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sorry to ask again :P

    But, are you sure that the FTP functions will still work? Like, ftp.customerdomain.com ? &-- with the login message and booting of current sessions, and true ftp accounts...

    I just don't see how ftp could be done for each user without additional ips... binding of the ftp daemon multiple times to only one ip... ?
     
  6. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:e6634a408d][i:e6634a408d]Originally posted by Trevor[/i:e6634a408d]

    Sorry to ask again :P

    But, are you sure that the FTP functions will still work? Like, ftp.customerdomain.com ? &-- with the login message and booting of current sessions, and true ftp accounts...

    I just don't see how ftp could be done for each user without additional ips... binding of the ftp daemon multiple times to only one ip... ?[/quote:e6634a408d]

    The logins just become user@domain.com instead of just the user for the virtual users
     
  7. Trevor

    Trevor Registered

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you so much :). Nice community.. very helpful :). I will definately purchase it :).
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Hello quick question
  1. Paul Racko
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    453

Share This Page