The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help a newbie? - BIND Problem

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by griz, Mar 11, 2002.

  1. griz

    griz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    similar problem:

    http://support.cpanel.net/obb/read.php?TID=1715

    My Problem:

    - BIND does not appear to be running. I have changed the nameserver in the resolv.conf file to 127.0.0.1, and I can now use cpanel by using an external nameserver, but I will need this server to have it's own nameserver running. I get a message that NDC will not connect, and ndc reload does not work. when I run ndc reload I get the following:

    root@a1 [/home]# ndc reload
    ndc: connect: connection refused
    root@a1 [/home]#

    When I run an nslookup, I get the following:

    root@a1 [/home]# nslookup hiexpress-fortuna.com
    Note: nslookup is deprecated and may be removed from future releases.
    Consider using the `dig' or `host' programs instead. Run nslookup
    with
    the `-sil[ent]' option to prevent this message from appearing.
    ;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached

    - For the life of me, I can't figure out how to set up my main ip account, which should be lin2.a1webserver.com

    - ipusage is not working either. The &SHOW IP ADRESS USAGE& tool in WHM gives the following
    output:

    --Invalid argument at /scripts/ipusage line 33.--

    - PROFTPD is hung. I find the following entry in /var/log/messages:

    Mar 11 01:16:03 a1 proftpd: a1.fds.lightone.net - Fatal: unable to determine IP address of `a1.fds.lightone.net'.

    and when I attempt to reload proftpd I get the following message:

    root@a1 [/var/log]# /etc/rc.d/init.d/proftpd restart
    Hangup


    Possibly but doubtfully related problem?: While setting up new accounts, the domain name 'hudson-les.com' was mistakenly entered as '89 hudson-les.com'. This pulled down apache until I edited httpd.conf and found the error. note - there is no entry for this domain in /etc/proftpd.conf because it is name-based.

    Can anyone help with this? Thanks in advance!

    Griz
     
  2. zex

    zex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    First ensure that dns is running.
    Try ndc restart if you have bind 8 (redhat 6.x)
    For red hat 7.x /etc/rc.d/init.d/named restart
    If your named server does not start go to /var/log/messages
    and check errors from bind.
    Then fix errors :)
     
  3. griz

    griz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    re:

    Thanks for the reply.

    my /etc/rc.d/init.d/ directory doesn't have named. when doing a locate command, I found 'named' files at the following locations:

    /usr/sbin/named

    when I run /usr/sbin/named stop I get the following output:

    root@a1 # /usr/sbin/named stop
    usage: named [-c conffile] [-d debuglevel] [-f|-g] [-n number_of_cpus]
    [-p port] [-s] [-t chrootdir] [-u username]
    named: extra command line arguments
     
  4. zex

    zex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This down is /etc/rc.d/init..d/named file :)
    put all this in that file.
    And use it for starting and restarting named...
    something like /etc/rc.d/init.d/named restart
    Dont forgot to put chmod 755 on /etc/rc.d/init.d/named
    Actualy the best solution is to reinstall bind, but you can use also this.

    You can also use ps -aux|grep bind to track PID
    and then kill -HUP PID to reload it.
    Then check /var/log/messages

    If you have still problems conntact me on e-mail.

    #!/bin/bash
    #
    # named This shell script takes care of starting and stopping
    # named (BIND DNS server).
    #
    # chkconfig: - 55 45
    # description: named (BIND) is a Domain Name Server (DNS) \
    # that is used to resolve host names to IP addresses.
    # probe: true

    # Source function library.
    . /etc/rc.d/init.d/functions

    # Source networking configuration.
    . /etc/sysconfig/network

    # Check that networking is up.
    [ &${NETWORKING}& = &no& ] && exit 0

    [ -f /etc/sysconfig/named ] && . /etc/sysconfig/named

    [ -f /usr/sbin/named ] || exit 0

    [ -f /etc/named.conf ] || exit 0

    RETVAL=0
    prog=&named&

    start() {
    # Start daemons.
    if [ -n &`/sbin/pidof named`& ]; then
    echo -n $&$prog: already running&
    return 1
    fi
    echo -n $&Starting $prog: &
    if [ -n &${ROOTDIR}& -a &x${ROOTDIR}& != &x/& ]; then
    OPTIONS=&${OPTIONS} -t ${ROOTDIR}&
    fi
    # Since named doesn't return proper exit codes at the moment
    # (won't be fixed before 9.2), we can't use daemon here - emulate
    # its functionality
    base=$prog
    named -u named ${OPTIONS}
    RETVAL=$?
    usleep 100000
    if [ -z &`/sbin/pidof named`& ]; then
    # The child processes have died after fork()ing, e.g.
    # because of a broken config file
    RETVAL=1
    fi
    [ $RETVAL -ne 0 ] && failure $&$base startup&
    [ $RETVAL -eq 0 ] && touch /var/lock/subsys/named && success $&$base startup&
    echo
    return $RETVAL
    }
    stop() {
    # Stop daemons.
    echo -n $&Stopping $prog: &
    killproc named
    RETVAL=$?
    [ $RETVAL -eq 0 ] && rm -f /var/lock/subsys/named
    echo
    return $RETVAL
    }
    rhstatus() {
    # FIXME: use this once it's implemented
    # /usr/sbin/rndc status
    # return $?
    PIDS=`/sbin/pidof named`
    if [ -z &$PIDS& ]; then
    echo $&$prog not running.&
    return 1
    else
    echo $&$prog is running, PIDs: $PIDS.&
    return 0
    fi
    }
    restart() {
    stop
    start
    }
    reload() {
    /usr/sbin/rndc reload &/dev/null 2&&1 || /usr/bin/killall -HUP named
    return $?
    }
    probe() {
    # named knows how to reload intelligently; we don't want linuxconf
    # to offer to restart every time
    /usr/sbin/rndc reload &/dev/null 2&&1 || echo start
    return $?
    }

    # See how we were called.
    case &$1& in
    start)
    start
    ;;
    stop)
    stop
    ;;
    status)
    rhstatus
    ;;
    restart)
    restart
    ;;
    condrestart)
    [ -f /var/lock/subsys/named ] && restart
    ;;
    reload)
    reload
    ;;
    probe)
    probe
    ;;
    *)
    echo $&Usage: $0 {start|stop|status|restart|condrestart|reload|probe}&
    exit 1
    esac

    exit $?
     
  5. albertg

    albertg Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have no prob restarting named but i think something is wrong..../etc/hosts and resolv.conf is setup correctly i believe.

    Is there any other place i should check?

    Thanks in advance.
     
Loading...

Share This Page