The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP! all website in server can't visit sometimes

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MSbrotherCOM, Mar 8, 2006.

  1. MSbrotherCOM

    MSbrotherCOM Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    my server has problem, all websites hosted in the server sometimes can't visit, but sometime can visit

    for exemple, it can be visit around 5 hours, then it can't visit around 3 hours, then again, can be visit again, says 4 hours, then can't visit for 6 hours.......again and again....

    i have no idea to find why it is the problem, i ensure the network connection is ok, because those website can be accessd via ip, for example, domain name is http://www.abcd.com, when type http://www.abcd.com in browser, it can't visit, but when use ip: http://12.34.56.78/~abcdcom (ie. ip: 12.34.56.78, username: abcdcom)

    i don't know why the problem occur, can anybody help me how much check what problem, and how to fix it?

    very urgent, please
     
  2. Lyttek

    Lyttek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Sounds like DNS issues....

    check www.dnsreport.com and see what errors might exist.
     
  3. MSbrotherCOM

    MSbrotherCOM Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    checked, find that seems no problem

    i think if there are only 1 or 2 domain has problem then maybe dns problem, but now all domain has same problem, i guess problem come from the server, because when problem occur, all domain can't access at SAME time, and when become ok, all domain has no problem as SAME time as well
     
  4. MSbrotherCOM

    MSbrotherCOM Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    when no problem, i use ping and tracert in dos, then it can find the ip address of the domain name

    when problem occur, dos would say that can't find the host
     
  5. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    As Lyttek said, it sounds that you have DNS or NS problem with your server. you need to check and see if these files have the correct directives and information: /etc/named.conf, /etc/hosts, /etc/resolve.conf and /etc/sysconfig/network
     
  6. MSbrotherCOM

    MSbrotherCOM Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    checked the above files, it has no problem

    today, I find one thing is, for all website can't visit, it display NOT 404 error, it display 406 error, is it something wrong with mod_sec? however, I have 2 server, with same setting of mod_sec, the other server has no problem
     
  7. MSbrotherCOM

    MSbrotherCOM Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I get some idea now

    1) I access the website via ssh (wget) from company, result can't access
    2) but I use another company beside my company to access it (also ssh, wget the website), no problem

    i go to http://www.network-tools.com to check the http header, it reply ok:
    HTTP/1.1 200 OK
    Date: Thu, 09 Mar 2006 01:25:30 GMT
    Server: Apache/1.3.33 (Unix) mod_auth_passthrough/1.8 mod_log_bytes/1.2 mod_bwlimited/1.4 PHP/4.3.10 FrontPage/5.0.2.2635 mod_ssl/2.8.22 OpenSSL/0.9.6b
    X-Powered-By: PHP/4.3.10
    Connection: close
    Content-Type: text/html

    I guess the problem maybe related to firewall prblem, maybe mod_sec, maybe apf, maybe other firewall I don't know installed in the server? any suggestion?

    however I have another server with similar setting, that server has no problem
     
Loading...

Share This Page