The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help allowing specific domain to bypass reverse dns lookup in exim

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by sivadc, Apr 1, 2005.

1. sivadc

sivadc Active Member

Just to preface, I'm not an expert in using exim by any means so I apologize in advance if I misstate something, or if this extremely easy to resolve. On to the problem!
    I currently have exim set up to do reverse dns lookups for incoming email messages (as a way of reducing the amount of spam our customers receive). This is what I have in the ACL section of the exim configuration editor:

require verify = reverse_host_lookup
    message = Your mail server IP address ($sender_host_address) has no reverse DNS PTR

In order to exempt domains that do not have reverse dns set up (but whose incoming mail needs to be accepted) I add them to my /etc/hosts file. There is one particular domain that I am having problems with though, I'll call it dumbdomain.com. The problem is as follows.

-dumbdomain.com has an mx record which points to mail.dumbdomain.com
    -mail.dumbdomain.com resolves to 1.1.1.1
    -1.1.1.1 reverses to dumbdomain.com
    -dumbdomain.com resolves to 2.2.2.2

so whenever I receive an email from dumbdomain.com exim_mainlog shows the following error:

2005-04-01 16:35:55 H=(superior-0pmh5w.Supreme.loc) [1.1.1.1] F=<user@dumbdomain.com> rejected RCPT <user@mydomain.com>: host lookup failed (1.1.1.1 does not match any IP address for dumbdomain.com)

I understand why it's saying that, but I don't know how to get exim to accept the mail anyway besides actually turning reverse dns lookup off. Adding "1.1.1.1 mail.dumbdomain.com" to /etc/hosts doesn't do anything. I would greatly appreciate any help with this.

2. chirpy

chirpy Well-Known Member