The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

"HELP" Big mistake when deleting account.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by drive1925, Mar 4, 2007.

  1. drive1925

    drive1925 Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Nova Scotia
    I was trying to change my password to cpanel for an account but it would not work no matter how I tried and the password I had recorded as belonging to that account refused to work. So since this was an account of my own and I had already decided to rebuild the site from scratch, I decided to just terminate the account and recreate it.

    However, and this is where I screwed up big time, I mistakenly checked the box for: "Keep Dns Zone". Then when I went to recreate the account it said the DNS zone for that account already existed and I would have to delete it first. OK.......well when I went to delete the DNS Zone it said I "don't appear to own that account.

    Anyone know how to get me back on track here? It would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    SSH to your server and
    cd /var/named/
    Find the DNS zone for the domain you terminated and you can either rename or remove the DNS zone. In additon, make sure the entries for the terminated accounts are not in the following files:
    /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf
    /etc/passwd
    /etc/group
     
  3. xerophyte

    xerophyte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    looks like you don't have permission to delete, if you are using reseller WHM interface, you need root access to delete zone files, if you don't have root access to the WHM, contact your hosting provider.

    in the future please post as mush as info you can so, we can get clear picture of your problem

    hope that helps
     
Loading...

Share This Page