The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help: Can't add a Name Server :(

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by peconi, Mar 2, 2009.

  1. peconi

    peconi Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Brand new cPanel installation...

    Just added 2 new IP's to the box and wanted to assign them to the Name Servers.

    I go to "Name Server IPs" section, enter ns1.mydomain.com and click Assign.

    The process lags forever, the progress bar working but nothing being done even after an hour.

    What's going on? I am using NSD instead of BIND. Could this be causing problems?
     

    Attached Files:

    • grr.PNG
      grr.PNG
      File size:
      11 KB
      Views:
      128
  2. bkschatz

    bkschatz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same Problem

    I am having the same problem. I'll post if I figure it out. Anyone have any ideas we would appreciate it.
     
  3. esolutions

    esolutions Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm having the same problem only this is not a new server. I just changed the hostname and am trying to set up new nameservers for the primary domain.

    Running cPanel 11.24.4-R33609 - WHM 11.24.2 - X 3.9
     
  4. popescu_oge

    popescu_oge Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same problem here.


    lags forever...


    .
     
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sometimes going into WHM -> Server Configuration -> Tweak Settings and checking Disable whois lookups for the nameserver IP manager. then clicking the save button at the bottom of the page will curb these issues.

    However, feel welcome to let our technical analysts take a look at your servers if you desire: http://tickets.cpanel.net/submit
     
  6. ashutariyal

    ashutariyal Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    You Roks

    I also facing the same prob. but after doing this it works... thanks mate.. you rocks
     
  7. PDW

    PDW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Just wanted to add, that this is still a great and workable solution. thanks
     
Loading...

Share This Page