Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Help: Comping php without mbstring

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tmellon, Oct 7, 2002.

  1. tmellon

    tmellon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    306
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    I've search all over, and don't have the slightest clue in how to go about doing it without running into problems.

    So I was wondering if anyone can give me an idea in how to go about doing it ??

    Do I have to edit the apache built script?

    The reason I need it to be compiled without is because its affecting vBulletin -- and its a serious issue -- especially with vB3 coming out soon, elies solely on the $_POST and $_GET and $_REQUEST arrays, vB3 won't run without this fixed...and they want to start beta testing within the next couple weeks :/

    So I need it compiled without.. :/

    Any help? Please?!?!

    Thanks in advance!!
    Tonya
     
  2. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    [quote:407b39515b][i:407b39515b]Originally posted by tmellon[/i:407b39515b]

    I've search all over, and don't have the slightest clue in how to go about doing it without running into problems.

    So I was wondering if anyone can give me an idea in how to go about doing it ??

    Do I have to edit the apache built script?

    The reason I need it to be compiled without is because its affecting vBulletin -- and its a serious issue -- especially with vB3 coming out soon, elies solely on the $_POST and $_GET and $_REQUEST arrays, vB3 won't run without this fixed...and they want to start beta testing within the next couple weeks :/

    So I need it compiled without.. :/

    Any help? Please?!?!

    Thanks in advance!!
    Tonya[/quote:407b39515b]


    you have to run this in a root ssh session:

    /scripts/easyapache

    choose advanced mode

    and make sure these modules are selected

    * User bandwidth leech protection
    * Bytes logging Module
    * Frontpage Module
    * Raise HARD_SERVER_LIMIT
    * Rewrite Module
    * SSL Module
    * suEXEC Module

    also select
    PHP Modules --&

    and uncheck whatever you want (PHP modules) i.e. mbstring
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. tmellon

    tmellon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    306
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    Thanks,

    I totally forgot that you can select the php module thing... grrr...
    brain freeze, I guess.

    Thanks again
     
  4. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Hmm, I've been compiling manually because mbstring wasn;t there. What php modules are currenrtly supported? Also, I tried to re-compile manually without mbstring ( as it is causing problems ) and I got an error and apache wouldn't restart. Whats the best way to remove mbstring support?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. tmellon

    tmellon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    306
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    Just do it the easyapache way -- it takes it right out.

    That's the simple part -- the thing that takes the longest is apache recompiling, etc. Everything else is very simple.
     
  6. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    yeah, but I also require curl and xslt. I also need it compiled without safemode ( not just turned off ). Anyone know if these features are now available in the buildapache? Last I checked ( a few months back ) they weren't.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    [quote:7b2c998ab1][i:7b2c998ab1]Originally posted by iminteractive[/i:7b2c998ab1]

    yeah, but I also require curl and xslt. I also need it compiled without safemode ( not just turned off ). Anyone know if these features are now available in the buildapache? Last I checked ( a few months back ) they weren't.[/quote:7b2c998ab1]
    you can also enable or disable curl, xslt and safe mode during Apache installation

    /scripts/easyapache
    (What you can see with * are recommended modules) you can enable or disable under PHP Module --&
    [quote:7b2c998ab1]
    [ ] Attach Module (not FrontPage compatible)
    [ ] MySQL Auth Module (not FrontPage or PHP compatible)
    [*] ~User bandwidth leech protection
    [*] Bytes logging Module
    [ ] Dav Module
    [ ] Expires Module
    [*] FrontPage Module
    [*] Raise HARD_SERVER_LIMIT
    [ ] Perl Module (not required to run .cgi scripts)
    Php Module --&
    [*] Rewrite Module
    [ ] Roaming Module (for Netscape 4.5 )
    [*] SSL Module
    [*] suEXEC Module
    [ ] Throttle Module
    [/quote:7b2c998ab1]
    [quote:7b2c998ab1]
    Php Module --&
    [*] Php Module
    (*) Bc Math
    (*) Calendar Support
    ( ) Curl
    ( ) Curl SSL Support
    ( ) Flash
    (*) FTP
    (*) GD
    (*) Imap Module
    ( ) Mb String
    ( ) Mcrypt
    (*) Ming Support
    (*) Magic Quotes
    (*) Mysql Module
    (*) Pear
    ( ) Sablot XSLT [may cause problems with chili!asp]
    (*) SafeMode
    (*) Sockets
    (*) Track Vars
    (*) TTF Support
    (*) Versioning
    (*) Zlib
    [/quote:7b2c998ab1]

    php -m

    shows compiled in modules


    P.S. F.Y.I in buildapache.sea (Oct 7 2002) Mb String module is disabled by default.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Sweeeet.. All went smoothly. Thanks itf :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. furquan

    furquan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    hey nick,
    I just did what every is written here to get rid of mb string, but after running /scripts/easyapache i did not find the PHP module mb string, hence i selected the rest and then continued and after the compilation finished..i got ERROR

    /usr/local/apache/bin/apachectl restart: httpd not running, trying to start
    Syntax error on line 227 of /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf:
    Cannot load /usr/local/apache/libexec/mod_throttle.so into server: /usr/local/apache/libexec/mod_throttle.so: undefined symbol: shm_open
    /usr/local/apache/bin/apachectl restart: httpd could not be started

    Please Some one or NICK advice

    Thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    [quote:42c706c9b5][i:42c706c9b5]Originally posted by furquan[/i:42c706c9b5]

    hey nick,
    I just did what every is written here to get rid of mb string, but after running /scripts/easyapache i did not find the PHP module mb string, hence i selected the rest and then continued and after the compilation finished..i got ERROR

    /usr/local/apache/bin/apachectl restart: httpd not running, trying to start
    Syntax error on line 227 of /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf:
    Cannot load /usr/local/apache/libexec/mod_throttle.so into server: /usr/local/apache/libexec/mod_throttle.so: undefined symbol: shm_open
    /usr/local/apache/bin/apachectl restart: httpd could not be started

    Please Some one or NICK advice

    Thanks[/quote:42c706c9b5]

    run
    /scripts/easyapache

    then choose [b:42c706c9b5]advanced[/b:42c706c9b5]

    (What you can see with * are recommended modules) you can enable or disable under PHP Module --&

    [quote:42c706c9b5]
    [ ] Attach Module (not FrontPage compatible)
    [ ] MySQL Auth Module (not FrontPage or PHP compatible)
    [*] ~User bandwidth leech protection
    [*] Bytes logging Module
    [ ] Dav Module
    [ ] Expires Module
    [*] FrontPage Module
    [*] Raise HARD_SERVER_LIMIT
    [ ] Perl Module (not required to run .cgi scripts)
    Php Module --&
    [*] Rewrite Module
    [ ] Roaming Module (for Netscape 4.5 )
    [*] SSL Module
    [*] suEXEC Module
    [ ] Throttle Module

    [/quote:42c706c9b5]


    [quote:42c706c9b5]

    Php Module --&
    [*] Php Module
    (*) Bc Math
    (*) Calendar Support
    ( ) Curl
    ( ) Curl SSL Support
    ( ) Flash
    (*) FTP
    (*) GD
    (*) Imap Module
    ( ) Mb String
    ( ) Mcrypt
    (*) Ming Support
    (*) Magic Quotes
    (*) Mysql Module
    (*) Pear
    ( ) Sablot XSLT [may cause problems with chili!asp]
    (*) SafeMode
    (*) Sockets
    (*) Track Vars
    (*) TTF Support
    (*) Versioning
    (*) Zlib
    [/quote:42c706c9b5]


    php -m

    shows compiled in modules


    P.S. F.Y.I in buildapache.sea (Oct 9 2002) Mb String module is disabled by default.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. furquan

    furquan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    got it working, BUT !!!

    Hi ITf

    Thanks for the reply, But i cannot see all those modules in my php section,, any way i had to disable mod_thottle entires in the httpd.conf to get it up, but i still dont know why it happend like that.

    And can u tell me do i need to always keep those entires #'ed or is their a sol to it.

    Thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    [quote:aa002ea695][i:aa002ea695]Originally posted by furquan[/i:aa002ea695]

    Hi ITf

    Thanks for the reply, But i cannot see all those modules in my php section,, any way i had to disable mod_thottle entires in the httpd.conf to get it up, but i still dont know why it happend like that.

    And can u tell me do i need to always keep those entires #'ed or is their a sol to it.

    Thanks[/quote:aa002ea695]
    During Apache installation use up and down arrow keys to see all of the options

    &And can u tell me do i need to always keep those entires #'ed or is their a sol to it.

    it is safe to comment out the line or even remove it from httpd.conf (mod_throttle.so)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. mrbill

    mrbill Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Thanks ITF, your post was a life saver

    Just wanted to say thanks. Appreciated your post here and in a few other locations on this forum. Keep up the good work.

    Regards to all,
    Bill
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice