The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP!!! Customer forgot their password

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by essexnet, May 7, 2004.

  1. essexnet

    essexnet Registered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi All

    I do hope this is ok to post this here, being a sort of new user an all......

    I need help. A client has fortten her password for ftp and email. and now cannot get access to either. How do i reset the password in cpanel6, so that they can login and then change password to one of there choice (and hopefully remember it).

    Thanks in advance

    gary
     
  2. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    You can log into their cpanel with their username and either root or reseller password, then change any passwords in there that need to be changed.
     
  3. essexnet

    essexnet Registered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Cheers for the quick reply.

    BUT...

    Have been in that way to do that, but it asks for a old password, and they dont know that. so that way is a no go

    Gary
     
  4. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    I just checked and yes, the old one is needed to change the cpanel password. It has to be changed in WHM then. In WHM you should have a "Password Modification" link. You can change the cpanel password there. If you don't have it, you will have to ask your provider to do it.
     
  5. essexnet

    essexnet Registered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi Cheers Again

    Just my luck... Yes I have WHM, but dont seem to have that featuer listed..ARRGHHHH........

    Here are the version numbers:
    WHM 9.1.0 cPanel 9.1.0-S63
    RedHat 9 - WHM X v2.1.2

    Is there anyway that I can add that feateur to this?

    Gary
     
  6. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    You must be a reseller to not have it there. You would need to ask your hosting provider to either add that feature, or to change the password for you.
     
  7. fwwebs

    fwwebs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Do you have a 'modify account' option?
     
  8. essexnet

    essexnet Registered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank You to all

    Hi Again

    juat to say a big thank you to those that replyed. It all now sorted.

    I have had change password function added to whm. I now have a happy client.

    Once again
    Thank You
    Gary
     
Loading...

Share This Page