The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help - DNS issue after moving to new server

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by ladydi711, May 27, 2004.

  1. ladydi711

    ladydi711 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Would someone take a look at one of my zones and help me figure what might be wrong?

    adg-us.com

    I moved my nameservers last night to a new IP; so far this seems to be the only account having problems, but I'm not very comfortable that I'm not going to have more problems.

    I've looked at dnsreport.com and it seems that there are some errors with lame name servers, but I'm just not seeing where.

    THANKS for the help!
     
  2. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No SOA record is being reported at dnsreport.com. Check to see if you are getting an "rndc" error when restarting bind.
     
  3. ladydi711

    ladydi711 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I'm not getting an error when restarting bind.

    I did find that my named.conf file was missing this zone, but the zone file was actually there.

    I've fixed that, and now I seem to be able to get name resolution, but dnsreport.com is still showing the errors.

    Is this a TTL issue now? Will it be OK, or am I in for more trouble....

    THANKS!
     
  4. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Looks okay now
     
  5. ladydi711

    ladydi711 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I think I found it... the zone file itself had the wrong ownership and permissions.

    I *think* all is well. :)

    If you see anything else that looks bad, please let me know so I can head it off.

    THANKS!!
     
Loading...

Share This Page