The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help doing a port forwarding.

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by mrpacogp, Aug 19, 2016.

Tags:
  1. mrpacogp

    mrpacogp Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Guys.
    I dont know how to set up something:
    "we need a port forwarding on port 24001 on IP: mydomain.dyndns.org "

    I can access to mydomain/cpanel also to my server with whm where its configured this domain and a few more.
    I use configserver firewall on my whm server.
    Apologize about my english.
    Kind regards.
     
    #1 mrpacogp, Aug 19, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 19, 2016
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I believe the following thread on StackOverflow answers your question, since you use CSF:

    ConfigServer Security Firewall & port forwarding

    Thanks!
     
    mrpacogp likes this.
  3. mrpacogp

    mrpacogp Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you very much for support.
    I have tryed but cannot get working this, its very confused for me to setup this rule.
    I know how to do things on html, css, c#, java, but firewall and rules are a nightmare for me.
    I have tested:
    192.168.1.1(ip of my server?)|24001|mydomain.dyndns.org
    With two options but not working.
    Thank you again and apologize about my english.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Does the target domain name resolve to a specific IP address? If so, this example should work:

    Code:
    192.168.1.1|24001|1.2.3.4|80|tcp
    Simply change "192.168.1.1" to the IP address of your server, and "1.2.3.4" to the IP address of the destination server.

    Thank you.
     
  5. mrpacogp

    mrpacogp Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The destination need to be a domain.dyndns.org, its possible?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's not advised to use hostnames with iptables rules. You can find discussion of this at:

    Making iptables easier to maintain

    Could you provide more information on the purpose of the port forwarding so we can offer alternatives?

    Thank you.
     
    mrpacogp likes this.
  7. DaGold

    DaGold Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    US
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I did this but for some reason my settings don't save.
     
  8. mrpacogp

    mrpacogp Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi, they ask about to do this:

    .- Select static ip or name : domain.dyndns.org
    .- Open in port 24001 and out port from static ip
    .- Open out port 14780 redirect to mysihot.net

    well, i only have a static ip for my server on whm with more domains.
    I`m a bit confused.
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    From what I understand, since it's using the dyndns.org service, all of the configuration would occur there instead of on the cPanel server. There's a document on this at:

    Support Wizard | Dyn Help Center

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page