The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help! Hostname unable to resolve to IP

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by silvers, Oct 31, 2009.

  1. silvers

    silvers Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Milpitas, CA
    Hi everyone at Cpanel Forum,

    I hope your day is going good. I've been trying to fix a problem I had all week. I receive daily email notification that "example.mydomainname.com" does not resolve to any IP. However, when in WHM, it already contains Server Main Ip: 208.53.183.125. I've tried a few solutions from the web, but to no avail:

    ====================================
    IMPORTANT: Do not ignore this email.
    The hostname (example.mydomainname.com) resolves to . It should resolve to 208.53.183.125. Please be sure to correct /etc/hosts as well as the 'A' entry in zone file for the domain.
    Some are all of these problems can be caused by
    /etc/resolv.conf being setup incorrectly. Please check this file if you
    believe everything else is correct.

    You may be able to automaticly correct this problem by using the
    'Add an A entry for your hostname' under 'Dns Functions'
    in your Web Host Manager
    ====================================

    1) Within WHM, I have the following:

    -Add an A entry for your hostname (I only have one listed)
    Hostname: example.mydomainname.com
    Server Main Ip: 208.53.183.125

    -Primary/secondary nameserver
    Primary Nameserver: ns1.mydomainname.com (A entry = 208.53.181.26)
    Secondary Nameserver: ns2.mydomainname.com (A entry = 208.53.181.27)

    -Resolver Configuration
    Primary Resolver: 66.90.68.25
    Secondary Resolver: 66.90.68.26

    -Additional IP my webhost gave me to use:
    208.53.181.26 (used in primary name server)
    208.53.181.27 (used in secondary name server)
    208.53.181.28

    -Current DNS Zone listing:
    example.com (my website URL that is currently working)
    example.mydomainname.com (hostname I made myself that contains the server main IP)
    ns1.mydomainname.com (A entry = 208.53.181.26)
    ns2.mydomainname.com (A entry = 208.53.181.27)


    2) My edit "edit /etc/resolv.conf" contains the following:

    Search localdomain
    nameserver 66.90.68.25
    nameserver 66.90.68.26


    Issue: I receive daily email notification that "example.mydomainname.com" does not resolve to any IP. However, when in WHM, it already contains Server Main Ip: 208.53.183.125. Does anyone know what I am doing wrong? :confused:


    Thanks a million in advance,

    -Silvers


    PS: I am not able to register my two nameserver at GoDaddy.com since it does not recognize my host name "example.mydomainname.com".
     
  2. sin-card.com

    sin-card.com Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hi i have the same problem, but I am totally new to this kind of thing so have no idea where to start looking :(

    let me know if you figure it out

    Thanks

    sin
     
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:

    Are you sure these are correct?
     
  4. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    You will have to place the register resolver domain name instead of localdomain and have a try.
     
  5. linux7802

    linux7802 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Solution

    Have you checked file /etc/hosts ?

    It need to be following entries only.

    Only above lines need to be present in /etc/hosts file and remove all other entries from this file.
     
Loading...

Share This Page