The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help! I enabled DMA and can't access my backup drive!!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by EdRooney, Nov 15, 2004.

  1. EdRooney

    EdRooney BANNED

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    # mount -a
    mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hda1,
    or too many mounted file systems

    Why is it tellming me wrong FS type? Does enabling DMA change the FS type?
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    If you're lucky, you might have a backup fstab file you can compare any changes to:

    ls -la /etc/fstab*

    Alternatively, or additionally, if you have the following line in your /etc/rc.d/rc.local:

    /scripts/hdparmon

    You could try commenting that out and then rebooting your server.
     
  3. EdRooney

    EdRooney BANNED

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It looks the same:
    root@hb [~]# cat /etc/fstab
    LABEL=/ / ext3 defaults 1 1
    LABEL=/boot /boot ext3 defaults 1 2
    none /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
    none /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
    LABEL=/home /home ext3 defaults,usrquota 1 2
    LABEL=/home2 /home2 ext3 defaults,usrquota 1 2
    none /proc proc defaults 0 0
    none /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
    LABEL=/tmp /tmp ext3 defaults 1 2
    LABEL=/usr /usr ext3 defaults,usrquota 1 2
    LABEL=/var /var ext3 defaults,usrquota 1 2
    /dev/sda5 swap swap defaults 0 0
    /dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom udf,iso9660 noauto,owner,kudzu,ro 0 0
    /dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy auto noauto,owner,kudzu 0 0
    /dev/hda1 /backup ext3 defaults 1 2
    root@hb [~]# cat /etc/fstab.backup.1096149258
    LABEL=/ / ext3 defaults 1 1
    LABEL=/boot /boot ext3 defaults 1 2
    none /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
    none /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
    LABEL=/home /home ext3 defaults,usrquota 1 2
    LABEL=/home2 /home2 ext3 defaults,usrquota 1 2
    none /proc proc defaults 0 0
    none /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
    LABEL=/tmp /tmp ext3 defaults 1 2
    LABEL=/usr /usr ext3 defaults,usrquota 1 2
    LABEL=/var /var ext3 defaults,usrquota 1 2
    /dev/sda5 swap swap defaults 0 0
    /dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom udf,iso9660 noauto,owner,kudzu,ro 0 0
    /dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy auto noauto,owner,kudzu 0 0
    /dev/hda1 /backup ext3 defaults 1 2
     
  4. EdRooney

    EdRooney BANNED

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what does hdparm do? can that fix it?
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    hdparm is the utility that is used to perform the DMA modification on the drive:

    mod hdparm

    Have you tried this yet:
     
  6. DigitalN

    DigitalN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    What does

    # fdisk /dev/hda

    Command (m for help): p

    Output?

    and

    # /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/smartctl -a /dev/hda

    Are there any errors?
     
  7. dezignguy

    dezignguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    chirpy: did you mean man hdparm?

    Run that and you'll get a description of the program and how to use it.
     
  8. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I did, well spotted ;)
     
Loading...

Share This Page