The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help me how to stop pico on ssh

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by preleaf, Nov 19, 2004.

  1. preleaf

    preleaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi Everyone!
    i accessed to ssh by putty then i use command pico ago 2 days but today i login to again .I use ps -aux i have still pico at there and login to WHM i get messages "your server is over load "
    the status of cpu is 98% .
    HOW TO stop command PICO ?Help me please
    Thank you so much
     
  2. Donna

    Donna BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    kill -9

    followed by the ID for the pico session

    From now on when using pico exit it with control key + C to stop pico first
     
  3. preleaf

    preleaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi Donna!
    why i use :
    root@ns1 [~]#kill -9
    bash: kill: (9) - No such process

    root@ns1 [~]# kill -9
    kill: usage: kill [-s sigspec | -n signum | -sigspec] [pid | job]... or kill -l [sigspec]
    My server is still inform :
    Top Process %CPU 91.2 pico -w -z -w hosts.conf
    You can teach me more detail :From now on when using pico exit it with control key + C to stop pico first
    that mean when pico -w -c hosts.conf or when i exit Bcs I exit pico I use Ctrl +X

    Help me
     
  4. Ley

    Ley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16

    kill -9 is the command. You have to put : kill -9 HERETHEPROCESSID.

    To find the process id type: top or check your WHM.

    For example if the process id in top/whm shows PID 3432 you type:

    kill -9 3432
     
  5. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    killall -9 pico

    (kills all pico processes)
     
  6. preleaf

    preleaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    how to know what is number ID ?
    I use command ps -A but i dont see that number of pico
    when i type command top it is display syslogd,top.....but i can see ID's process of pico
    Help me PLs
    Thank you so much
     
    #6 preleaf, Nov 19, 2004
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2004
  7. preleaf

    preleaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    root@ns1 [~]# killall -9 pico
    pico: no process killed
     
  8. SupermanInNY

    SupermanInNY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16

    ps fax

    will show you the listing of the current running processes.

    The left most value is a number. That number is the process ID.

    if you run


    kill -9 NUMBERHERE
    Where the NUMBERHERE is the process id,

    then that process will be terminated.

    good luck.

    -Alon.
     
  9. preleaf

    preleaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thank Donna ,Ley,Cpanelnick,SupermanInNY So muchit is working well now.
    but guide me how to exit commands without trace on server and to avoid server is overed load again in future.Help me Please
    Best Regards,
    Preleaf,
     
  10. SupermanInNY

    SupermanInNY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    U'r welcome.
    As to how to exit commands, it really depends on the application you are running.
    If you use vim or vi you need to use the

    :q!

    to exit the program

    If you are using pico, I believe it is ctrl-x and then selecting Y for yes.
    if you are using top just type q or ctrl-c

    It is always a good thing to keep an eye on the server load and monitor the
    ps fax to verify that there are no processes running that you don't recognize or
    do recognize and want to kill.

    good luck,

    -Alon.
     
  11. preleaf

    preleaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    ok SupermanInNY i have used command Vi within ESC ->:q and pico CtrlX then then selectting Y for Yes .it is ok but sometime with stay trace "overload" on server
     
  12. SupermanInNY

    SupermanInNY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thats really odd.
    Those programs, running or zombies, are barely taking any resources.
    Whenyou say overload, what exactly do you mean?
    Are you running top or ps fax and seeing those programs still hanging there?
    if you type ps fax you see the 'process id' then a '?' then a letter like 's' or 'SL' or
    'z' or something of that nature, then you see 'clock' and finally you see a process description.

    What do you see next to pico, or vi or vim What Letter is showing, and what does the clock say?

    And when you run top, what do you see as an overload?

    -Alon.
     
  13. dezignguy

    dezignguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yeah, that's what I was thinking... those programs aren't going to cause any high loads on your server... I think you need to be looking elsewhere for the cause of your high loads.
     
Loading...

Share This Page