The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help me understand

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by webgig, Sep 17, 2008.

  1. webgig

    webgig Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I installed WHM/cpanel to host 1 corporate site w/online store on a godaddy VPS.
    I set the hostname to corp.mydomain.com
    I set the nameservers ns1.mydomain.com & ns2.mydomain.com
    I set an A record entry for the Hostname corp.mydomain.com

    I created a new account to host the domain mydomain.com
    I added an SSL cert and new IP xxx.xxx.xxx.xx2 to the new mydomain.com account

    Now... Viewing DNS zone I see xxx.xxx.xxx.xx1 -A record that points to mydomain.com (set earlier using "Add an A Entry for your Hostname").

    But... I need to set an A record to xxx.xxx.xxx.xx2 for the hosted mydomain.com

    Am I just seeing this wrong or is there a conflict in my setup?
     
    #1 webgig, Sep 17, 2008
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2008
  2. Forum Helper101

    Forum Helper101 Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I really dont understand what your trying to say there, could you explain it a little more?
     
  3. webgig

    webgig Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I used the book "Web Host Manager Administration Guide" to help install cpanel. During setup I used "Add an A Entry for your Hostname" to set an A record for corp.mydomain.com and when I checked that DNS zone, mydomain.com is pointing to xxx.xxx.xxx.xx1 (the primary IP).

    To host mydomain.com I created and account, added an SSL cert and IP xxx.xxx.xxx.xx2 to the account. Now, I am sure I have to add another A record to resolve the website of mydomain.com meaning the DNS records will have 2 different IP's pointing to mydomain.com.

    I don't know whether I am misunderstanding Apache - WHM - hostname - DNS or all of the above, or maybe I'm just setting it all up wrong. What am I missing here??? :(
     
  4. Kailash1

    Kailash1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You can simply create the A record as follow in the DNS zone of your domain:

    corp A your main IP address.

    And point your domain to your dedicated IP address.

    Kailash
     
  5. webgig

    webgig Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Simple is correct, thank you!:D
     
Loading...

Share This Page