The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help needed - what does 'domain didn't return SOA' mean?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jamestong, Oct 9, 2003.

  1. jamestong

    jamestong Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I did a dns check on uihost.com at http://www.checkdns.net/

    and got the following messages -

    DNS server ns1.uihost.com[209.51.150.129] is alive, but not authoritative for domain 'uihost.com' and didn't return SOA

    DNS server ns2.uihost.com[209.51.150.130] is alive, but not authoritative for domain 'uihost.com' and didn't return SOA

    What does the message mean?

    Is it related to the reason why my accounts/domains not showing up at all?

    Your insight and expertise is appreciated.

    Thanks

    James

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It means you have "lame" Nameservers.

    That helps a lot, doesnt' it. ;)


    You should check /etc/nameserverips to make sure your Nameservers are listed and using the correct IP addresses.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. vwiley1

    vwiley1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    re: what does 'domain didn't return SOA' mean?

    Hi,

    I had a similar problem when setting up nameservers for a customer. My problem was I forgot a trailing period after a domain name.

    Log into WHM and go to "Edit a DNS Zone" and click on the domain name/names you are having problems with.

    Check the following things: (listed in order)

    IN SOA: ns1.yournameserver.com.
    (ns1 could vary, replace yournameserver.com with your nameserver :) Also notice that there is a period "." after yournameserver.com. <----- The trailing period has to be there.

    __
    yourdomain.com. NS ns1.yournameserver.com.
    yourdomain.com. NS ns2.yournameserver.com

    Check for the 2 NS records. Notice the periods trailing after .com. They have to be there for it to work correctly.
    __

    yourdomain.com. A ###.###.###.###

    Check for the A record for your domain. Notice again the trailing period after .com. Notice there is NO trailing period for an IP address. #= your IP address. Make sure you have the right IP address.
    __

    Check all other records listed and make sure there is always a trailing period after a domain name. Make sure there is never a trailing period for IP Addresses. Make sure there are NO trailing periods for sub-domains listed. Like ftp, mail or www

    __

    If you happen to be running your own nameservers for yourdomain.com (ex test.com (NS1.test.com & NS2.test.com)
    Make sure you have A records for the nameservers.

    ns1.yourdomain.com. A ###.###.###.### (# = your IP Address)

    ns2.yourdomain.com. A ###.###.###.###

    After you are done adding any trailing periods you may have left out, hit save. After you hit save you should see a page load up that gives you a new SOA #. If it did not work correctly you will see it says some kind of error. Give DNS time to propregate, and do a dnsreport.com test.

    Hope this helps,

    Vince Wiley

    --
    Vince Wiley
    --
    AuthorityHost.Com
    Virtual Hosting Starting @ 5.95 a month
    Reseller Accounts Starting @ 27.95 a month
    Web Host Manager/Cpanel or Plesk Accounts Available
    ---

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #3 vwiley1, Oct 10, 2003
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2003
  4. Spuds

    Spuds Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm having the same problem...

    I am having the same problem with almost every single "virtual DNS" server on a machine. I can't find any difference between the ones that work, and the ones that don't.

    All trailing periods are in place.
    /etc/nameserverips is correct
    checkdns.net gives me the same errors as above.

    A local dig gives me this:

    root@server1 [~]# dig fdtnet.com @ns1.interacthost.net

    ; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> fdtnet.com @ns1.interacthost.net
    ;; global options: printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 29444
    ;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 2

    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;fdtnet.com. IN A

    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    fdtnet.com. 14400 IN A 69.57.173.50

    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    fdtnet.com. 14400 IN NS ns2.interacthost.net.
    fdtnet.com. 14400 IN NS ns1.interacthost.net.

    ;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
    ns1.interacthost.net. 14400 IN A 69.57.166.178
    ns2.interacthost.net. 14400 IN A 69.57.166.179

    ;; Query time: 3 msec
    ;; SERVER: 69.57.166.178#53(ns1.interacthost.net)
    ;; WHEN: Mon Oct 13 15:33:24 2003
    ;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 128


    But a dig from another machine yeilds different results:

    C:\WINDOWS\system32>dig www.fdtnet.com @ns1.interacthost.net

    ; <<>> DiG 9.2.2 <<>> www.fdtnet.com @ns1.interacthost.net
    ;; global options: printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: SERVFAIL, id: 41
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;www.fdtnet.com. IN A

    ;; Query time: 160 msec
    ;; SERVER: 69.57.166.178#53(ns1.interacthost.net)
    ;; WHEN: Mon Oct 13 14:34:05 2003
    ;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 32

    I've been banging my head on this for about 2 weeks now. Clients are about to flee (and I don't blame them). And I thought that I was an expert-level DNS admin...

    Help! Please!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Looks like the NS are on a different Server than your account -- fdtnet.com. That's not good as, at least one NS has to be on the same Server as the account.

    Or, the wrong IPs have been entered at the Registrar, for the Nameservers.

    I'm surprized though, that your DC is not giving you any help on this? Have you submitted a Ticket with them?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. Spuds

    Spuds Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    What's a DC? Direct Connect?

    Second of all... I'm doing server admin work... the nameserver is that of a client. But my nameserver for my personal domain is also not working. Same problem... so I moved them to use the parent DNS server.. so MY site is working fine because of that, however, this person wants to use his custom dns server-- and I understand his desire to do that. However, I have 3 custom DNS servers and all of them suffer from the same problem.... all SERVFAIL when an dig is performed against them for a domain they are supposed to be SOA for.

    If I do a dig against them for ANY OTHER DOMAIN, they work fine.

    So:

    www.fdtnet.com is supposed to have SOA to ns1.interacthost.net... but it's having a problem.... UNLESS I use ns1.interacthost.net to look up anything that's not supposed to be controlled by it.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page