The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help needed with subdomain

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Seamhead, Jun 16, 2011.

  1. Seamhead

    Seamhead Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    I'm hoping someone can explain how to make the following work (assuming it's doable):

    A buddy and I have decided to merge our websites into one, but I want to stay with my current web host and he has recently opened an account with a different web host. Despite that, we'd like to be able to create a subdomain on my site that would feature all of his files and information. Rather than use a generic example, here are the two sites and what we're trying to accomplish: /http://www.seamheads.com and /http://www.thebaseballgauge.com. If you visit both, you'll see that we each have our own respective URLs, styles, colors, etc. We want to maintain the integrity of each site (for now) but have The Baseball Gauge be a subdomain of Seamheads.com, so we're looking at a URL of seamheads.com/baseballgauge.

    We've gone into cPanel and created a new A record called "baseballgauge.seamheads.com" and pointed it to his new IP address. He then went into his cPanel and created a parked domain that redirects back to Seamheads.com. But that doesn't appear to be working. Unfortunately I don't have access to his cPanel, so I can't see exactly what's happening on his end, and I don't know if this is correct to begin with.

    Is there a way to do what I'm describing above or would it be easier for me to just move my site over to his new host and go from there?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks!
    Mike
     
  2. RaptorUK

    RaptorUK Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I think the best you can do is use a Redirection with the subdomain, so redirect baseballgauge.seamheads.com to [noparse]http://www.thebaseballgauge.com[/noparse]
     
    #2 RaptorUK, Jun 17, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2011
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,852
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Mike :)

    The easiest way to accomplish this would be to add "thebaseballgauge.com" as an Add-on domain name to the cPanel account for seamheads.com. You can then upload the data from "thebaseballgauge.com" into the subdirectory created for the Add-on domain name. Once you do that, simply adjust the name servers on "thebaseballgauge.com" to point to the new server.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page