The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP!! OpenSSH Fails to load!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kev888, Nov 14, 2005.

  1. kev888

    kev888 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,
    I had a problem earlier with apache which required a Datacenter Tech. to preform a hard reboot. After I fix it I preform another reboot. Cpanel/whm and sites load but shell doesn't. I tryed restarting it, with getting a failed to start message. I can't connect through putty.
    Please help :( .
    Thanks
    Kevin
     
  2. PanelGuy

    PanelGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    See if they have a terminal method for you to log in with and then check your IPTables and other firewalls.

    Alo, make sure the SSDd service is running.
     
  3. kev888

    kev888 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I tryed, I use APF. Should I call a Tech to reboot?
    Anyways, im going to try a CPUP (via whm). I changed my ssh port to 28. It worked for atleast a month, well.
    Anyways,
    Thanks
     
  4. PanelGuy

    PanelGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What version of APF do you have? There was a bug/mis-setting in versions around 0.9.4.

    It has to do with the LIM. It will block you from getting answers back from services, but this doesn't sound like your issue since you can get into WHM.

    Make sure you are allowing port 28, and check that the service SSH is running. You can do this in WHM.
     
  5. kev888

    kev888 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Not running,
    I have an idea, I have WHMXtra which allows me a directory ROOT access. I can change the port and reboot. would that fix it?
     
  6. kev888

    kev888 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    YES!
    It seems to have worked. Anyone know a file manager type tool that can reside in WHM (root) for other users to prevent problems like this?
    Thanks very much PanelGuy.
     
Loading...

Share This Page