The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help: Placeholder page

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by skiff, Apr 22, 2008.

  1. skiff

    skiff Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi!

    I'm new to cPanel but have gone through the video tutorials and also had a good look around here. Unfortunately I am having a problem and haven't found the answer. Hopefully someone could give me some pointers.

    I have uploaded a website into the public_html folder - I can see it perfectly fine by going to the following address http://00.00.00.00/~username/ (ip + username). I can't see it when I type the domain though http://www.mydomainname.com Instead I get the Apache Placeholder page.

    Straight away I thought my DNS settings must be wrong as seeing this means the server doesn't know where to send me. I checked the settings provided by my host.

    ns1.host-care.com
    ns2.host-care.com

    They also gave IP address alternatives for these. These were what my domain registrar required. So my DNS settings are set to point to the IP addresses of the above nameservers.

    I have not touched the MX settings as I think they are for mail only and I am more concerned about getting my page running properly and seen first. I gave 48 hours for the DNS settings to propagate and was still getting the cPanel/Apache Placeholder page. 1 week later this is still the same.

    Based on advice given to other people on the forum about this kind of thing I've made sure the index.html file in public_html has been overwritten with my main page (so it isn't the placeholder page sitting there). I have cleared my browser's cache to make sure I am not just viewing old files and missing the new updates. I also checked in /etc/httpd/htdocs/index.html (which is where I thought the placeholder page was supposedly held) In the etc directory I don't have an httpd folder or any kind of html pages.

    So, I think I have done everything I need to do - files uploaded, dns settings etc Am I missing something obvious or have I forgotten something? My gut says its the DNS settings as that stands to reason - If I can access my page by visiting http://00.00.00.00/~username/ then all my files and directories are set fine. But, if I can't get to my page by typing in the domain name, then the server hasn't a clue where to send me and so the DNS settings are suss. I have followed the instructions for setting them up though so am at a loss.

    I am totally new to this but have tried to get to grips with it and think I understand things ok and see what is what...apart from getting it to work! Any help or advice would be appreciated and sorry if I've been really basic or used the wrong terms or anything.. still learning hehe

    Thank you!

    J
     
  2. Branko

    Branko Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Sounds like a missing serveralias or servername directive in virtualhost section for that user.

    Try checking apache conf file virtualhost for that user and verify that you have www.domainname.com and domaniname.com configured for that user.
     
  3. skiff

    skiff Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    will give it a go - thanks for replying Branko!
     
  4. DaveUsedToWorkHere

    DaveUsedToWorkHere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    This can happen if the user's domain information is missing from /var/cpanel/users/{username}

    You should verify that that file contains something like this:

    Code:
    #cPanel -- If you edit this file directly you must run /scripts/updateuserdomains after to rebuild the cache
    BWLIMIT=20971520000
    CONTACTEMAIL=xxx@xxx.net
    CONTACTEMAIL2=
    DEMO=0
    DNS=xxxxxx.com
    DNS1=webmail.xxxxxxx.com
    FEATURELIST=noftp
    HASCGI=0
    IP=xxx.xx.xxx.xx
    LANG=english-utf8
    MAXADDON=10
    MAXFTP=10
    MAXLST=10
    MAXPARK=10
    MAXPOP=10
    MAXSQL=10
    MAXSUB=10
    OWNER=xxxxxxx
    PLAN=noftp
    RS=x3
    STARTDATE=1170187955
    USER=xxxxxxx
    
    If you edit the file, run /scripts/updateuserdomains afterwards. Then run /scripts/rebuildhttpdconf to rebuild your Apache configuration file.
     
Loading...

Share This Page