The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP..please..pure-ftp

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ekg, Mar 30, 2008.

  1. ekg

    ekg Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi

    could anyone tell me how i can upload using Pure-FTP on one of my accounts. I am using another ftp program to upload data to the site but have been told i could/should use pure-ftp. I don't see anything in my control panel to administer pure-ftp. Do i have to configure it in WHM?

    I know these are very newbie questions but if any help can be giving it would be greatly apprciated
     
  2. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Very simple,

    whm > ftp configuration > switch to pure-ftpd

    thats it...
     
  3. ekg

    ekg Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thanks, i have done that..is that it? how do i start using it or letting any potential clients use it? do i use it with an existing ftp client ? or is their an interface for it...i am assuming it is just a protocol then?

    at the moment i am using transmit to upload my files to my server..and i want to increase the upload bandwidth
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That's all there is to it. Users can connect to your FTP server just as they did before. I do think one of the FTP apps is insistent on full user@domain.com logins rather than simply permitting logins with the cPanel user name. I can't recall which one at this moment though.
     
  5. ekg

    ekg Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thanks doug

    One more question though..i am trying to create ssh access for a perticular site and i follow all the steps in the tutorial but can not seem to connect. I even downloaded the cyberduck instructions but it asks me for a password. Is this the same password that i use for my standard ftp account or a different one. It has been driving me crazy, and when i create a key it does not accept it. What am i doing wrong?

    thanks for your time
     
  6. WebScHoLaR

    WebScHoLaR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Only cPanel main user can connect to SSH if SSH is enabled for it in WHM.
     
  7. ekg

    ekg Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thanks for the help. On this particular account i am the main user. I want to upload some files using ssh, so i go through all the steps, then try and login using cyberduck or transmit on a mac and nothing..i can not get access. But if i try by normal ftp i can get into my public_html directory no problem? I just want to be able to transfer file securely without having to go into whm for this particular site..does that make sense?
     
  8. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Does your account have jailed or normal shell access? Or does it have no shell access at all? Check the settings in the WHM interface or contact your hosting provider.
     
  9. ekg

    ekg Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    the account has jailed shell, does it need to have normal shell?
     
  10. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    IIRC, Jailed shell should be sufficient for SFTP.
     
Loading...

Share This Page