The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help requested

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Sheldon, Jun 14, 2004.

  1. Sheldon

    Sheldon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    http://www.hostinglife.com/dns.php

    Are these valid instructions...

    My /etc/resolv.conf looks nothing like that.. it has the reverse dns IP's that my dc gave me upon server creation.

    my resolv.conf is below

    as well, I have a client I want to setup nameservers for? how would I go about running multiple nameservers on the same server? please advise.

    a tutorial for cpanel/whm stated to me that I should leave the set minimum UID blank.. I currently have it set to 600? what should I do?

    no obviously this is alot to help me out with... I dont expect to get this all answered over night.. but any help anyone is willing to offer is greatly apreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. eth00

    eth00 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I would actually put 127.0.0.1 instead of the actual box ip. Using localhost ip (127.0.0.1) will ensure you don't have any trouble with your firewall and is simplier.


    The nameserver itself will respond on any ip to any request. If you have 5 different nameservers all pointing to the same ip all 5 will work just fine. The only problem you might encounter is if you add reverse dns entires, because you can only have one per ip. Other then that you can assign them to multiple ips if you run out.

    Leaving the UID blank is fine, just clear it out and leave it. I want to say the default is 500 but it is late and I might be wrong. Leave it blank and all will work fine for you.

    Good luck with the server.
     
  3. Sheldon

    Sheldon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    I currently have the nameserver entries as reverse dns IP's from the dc?

    should I add my nameserver IP's instead of the reverse dns IP's? or just add 2 new lines for my namesevrers?
     
  4. eth00

    eth00 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The first line should be 127.0.0.1 then the other two lines should be the IPs of your ISPs DNS servers.
     
  5. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The instructions you quoted from hostinglife.com would be correct:
    domain "yourdomain.com"
    search "yourdomain.com"
    nameserver 127.0.0.1
    nameserver ip address #1 here
    nameserver ip address #2 here
     
Loading...

Share This Page