The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help root user under the root SSH

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MKWH, Dec 18, 2013.

  1. MKWH

    MKWH Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    HI

    I'm new to this so please be gentle.

    I would like to install whmsonic and it says

    WHMSonic can be installed by root user under the root SSH with the following single command. After you run the following command as a root user, your software will be automatically installed and you can access to WHMSonic at your WHM Root under the plugins menu.

    Installation:
    Login to your server root SSH and copy/paste the following command fully and run it.

    Code:
    cd /root/; rm -f installr.sh; wget http://www.whmsonic.com/setupr/installr.sh; chmod +x installr.sh; ./installr.sh

    What I want to know is how do you even get to and use the root access and root SHH in the first place?

    some help on the above matter would be great.

    Thanks
    Daniel
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    You have your access level listed as "Reseller". Resellers do not have "root" access to the system. Instead, your web hosting provider would have root access to the server, and they have created a reseller account for you. You will not be able to install plugins for WHM as a reseller.

    Thank you.
     
  3. MKWH

    MKWH Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Thanks for the info. I'm not 100% sure if I have access or not so How would I find out? because when they created my account they said i would be able to install whmsonic my self.

    Thanks again and hello :)
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do you use the "root" username when accessing Web Host Manager? You may want to consult with your hosting provider to verify which type of plan you purchased.

    Thank you.
     
  5. MKWH

    MKWH Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    No. So I guess not.

    Thanks for the advice and help you have been great.

    Thanks
    Daniel
     
Loading...

Share This Page