The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help setting up Subdomain on different server

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Omar Murillo, Jun 12, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Omar Murillo

    Omar Murillo Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    so im bascially using namecheap domain & servers and squarespace. i have squarespace setup already using there DNS settings for my domain in namecheap. My only problem now is linking a subdomain to be used on the namecheap hosting servers.

    i currently have squarespace setting on advanced DNS.
    i.imgur.com/NNPZWQ6.jpg

    im assuming i might have to add more entries here and on cpanel dns settings to use a subdomain on namecheap hosting. any ideas?
     
    #1 Omar Murillo, Jun 12, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 12, 2016
  2. Omar Murillo

    Omar Murillo Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    namecheap hosting says i have to add there nameservers but when i do that the link with squarespace breaks.

    squarespace uses dns with @ and cnames and namecheap hosting use nameservers. how do i use my domain with both?
     
  3. Omar Murillo

    Omar Murillo Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    nevermind i fixed it
     
  4. twhiting9275

    twhiting9275 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Namecheap is correct. You'll need to use their nameservers if squarespace won't allow you to add an A entry.
    However, you should be able to contact squarespace, if your dns is through them and have them point sub.domain.com as an A entry to the ip you want.
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I'm happy to see you were able to address the issue. Do you mind sharing the solution in-case other users with a similar problem review this thread?

    Thanks!
     
Loading...

Share This Page