The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP updateuserdomains

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by NNNils, Jul 3, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have to run /scripts/updateuserdomains about every week on one of my servers.

    How can I make sure it won't happen again?

    For who does not know the problem:

    There is a bug that makes /etc/userdomains empty, symptoms: users can not login into their mailboxes and list accounts in WHM does not display any account.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #1 NNNils, Jul 3, 2003
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2003
  2. kcdworks

    kcdworks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I was having this problem and opened a ticket on it ... it was a problem a few EDGE versions ago, according to Darren@CPanel.

    What version are you running?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    6.4.2 - S75

    I am running that version on a couple of other servers and never had problems.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. kcdworks

    kcdworks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The response that I got from Darren indicated that it was a problem with all update trees ... make sure you are running the most recent version of whichever tree you are on (Edge, Stable, etc.)

    Also, when the problem happens, before you run the script to fix it, look at /etc/localdomains and /etc/userdomains and see what condition they are in ... I was never able to do that before running the script.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    When problems arise, userdomains is simply empty (zero characters)

    I'll do a cpanel upgrade

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Upgrade didn't help.

    Still having this problem.

    What weekly tasks do run that may cause this?

    O wait, I run weekly backup, may that have something to do with it?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: 17366
     
  7. jamesbond

    jamesbond Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I don't have the same problem, but I did notice that the date of the file 'userdomains' seems to update every night when the backups are being performed.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. thomas

    thomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Same problem here, running 7.2.1-S85, backup is not enabled, and it happens every other day. :(

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    My datacenter fixed this by cleaning some logs.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I now have the same problem again but found somewhere that I should run /scripts/mailperm after /scripts/userdomains

    Maybe that will solve it now!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. Host4u2

    Host4u2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I've only experienced this problem with ending up with a blank userdomains file when a Reseller used "Modify an Account" via his reseller's WHM (changed a DomainName). Since I've removed that option from my reseller's WHMs I've had no problem. I have reported it to Cpanel.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I closed modify accounts for all resellers, but it just happened again...

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. Przemek

    Przemek Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I also did have problems with userdomains = 0kb two times. Today was the second time and it was on cPanel 7.4.2-S117 without any resellers running on it.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  14. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The problem has not returned here since last time, so I'll hope it will solve for you by itself too.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  15. randomuser

    randomuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Why am I bumping a 2.5 year old thread? Because:

    1. bugzilla.cpanel.net is borked again, and
    2. This problem still persists to this day with the latest stable release.

    Why does this bug still exist after nearly 3 years?


    edit: http://bugzilla.cpanel.net/show_bug.cgi?id=4036
     
    #15 randomuser, Apr 2, 2006
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2006
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page