The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help: Want to redirect

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Art Shotwell, Feb 17, 2006.

  1. Art Shotwell

    Art Shotwell Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've got a client with two domain names. I have set up one domain as domain.com and we'd like another domain, say, domaine.com to be redirected to domain.com so that when someone types in domaine.com, they see domain.com. I don't really see how to do this. Can someone help?
     
  2. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    One way is to add a .htaccess file containing this in the webroot of "domaine.com":

    redirect /index.html http://www.domain.com/
     
  3. Art Shotwell

    Art Shotwell Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    So, you're suggesting setting up a domaine.com in WebHost Manager? Then adding that text in .htaccess in the webroot of domaine.com. Right?
     
  4. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    One way to do it depending on how you want the account setup.
     
  5. Lyttek

    Lyttek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    If domaine.com doesn't have any further use than as a redirect, just park it on top of domain.com... no further setup necessary (other than to make sure the domaine.com nameservers are pointing to the correct server)
     
  6. Art Shotwell

    Art Shotwell Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well, I'm completely new to this...I'm a reseller...and I don't know how I want the account setup.
     
  7. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  8. Art Shotwell

    Art Shotwell Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks...makes sense. I discover that I can't add parked domains. And, I don't see anything WHM which would allow me to add it to CP. Will contact my host.
     
Loading...

Share This Page