The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help With 403

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by spoonyl, Dec 17, 2006.

  1. spoonyl

    spoonyl Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hey i just got hosted and stuff by a friend and i uploaded a folder witch made a new directory right? anyways for some reason when i type the link to the directory it shows a 403 message please help because i need to install something within the directory:confused: :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused:
     
  2. SoftDux

    SoftDux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What is the folder called?
    How did you access the folder?
    Did you try and put a index.php file in the folder to see if it displays?
     
  3. spoonyl

    spoonyl Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i did the link to it is spoonyl.com/top-sites/install/index.php even if i just go to spoonyl.com/top-sites it dont work it just shows the 403 error
     
  4. SoftDux

    SoftDux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What does the error log say?
     
  5. adept2003

    adept2003 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    ~ "/(extra|special)/data"
    Could be any nnumber of reasons. Check that the files have correct ownership - this would normally only be a problem if the files were uploaded by a user with root privileges via SSH.

    Might also be worth checking the .htaccess file ensure that indexes are not turned off (or via the "Index Manager" in cPanel.
     
  6. oulzac

    oulzac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I would say its the main folder (public_html) not being set to 755, if they have phpsuexec installed, and the folder is set to 750, it will give a 403 error.
     
Loading...

Share This Page