The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with back up and trasfer ftp passive mode

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by malhyp, Feb 23, 2013.

  1. malhyp

    malhyp Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Hi there, can anyone assist with our enquiry, we have been trying to move accounts from one cpanel account to another for several days now, the host has tried to help but has no answers.
     
    #1 malhyp, Feb 23, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2013
  2. malhyp

    malhyp Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Hi there, can anyone assist with our enquiry, we have been trying to move accounts from one cpanel account to another for several days now, the host has tried to help but has no answers.

    We log into one cpanel account, create a backup using the Remote FTP Server (passoive mode transfer) option that is available. When doing this we enter the correct IP address, username, password along with 21 as the port and a / in the remote dir input field.

    When creating the backup everything transfers to the new server with no problem, we have tried this several times, deleted and tride several times to make sure that there is no ussue with the backup.

    When logging into the new cpanel accoung we can see that the backup has moved to the home folder, one example is /home/websute91.

    I then open up Putty, enter the IP address of the new host.

    Then click ok with SSH selected.

    Then proceed to enter my username and password, we now have access.

    I then type in two options, I have tried both of these several times just incase I missunderstood the path.

    cd /home and cd /home/websute91

    Both of these work, when I go into any of the above I try the following.

    /scripts/restorepkg backup-2.22.2013_00-15-59_websute91.tar.gz

    No matter what I try, I keep getting the following message each time.

    Code:
    ------------------
    root@aaa12345 [/home/websute91]# /scripts/restorepkg backup-2.22.2013_16-29-46_websute91.tar.gz
    Using backup archive
    cPanel restorepkg 2
    Force Mode: no
    Reseller Privs Restore: yes
    
    Searching /home....
    checked 41 files.....
    No Restorable archives found!
    
    Searching /home2....
    checked 0 files.....
    No Restorable archives found!
    
    Searching /home3....
    checked 0 files.....
    No Restorable archives found!
    
    Searching /root....
    checked 12 files.....
    No Restorable archives found!
    
    Searching /usr....
    checked 15 files.....
    No Restorable archives found!
    
    Searching /usr/home....
    checked 0 files.....
    No Restorable archives found!
    
    Searching /web....
    checked 0 files.....
    No Restorable archives found!
    
    No archives were found for user websute91!!
    
    This feature will restore full backups, cpanel backups and cpanel move files in one of the following formats:
    
            cpmove-{USER}
            cpmove-{USER}.tar
            cpmove-{USER}.tar.gz
            USER.tar
            USER.tar.gz
            backup-{BACKUP-DATE_TIME}_{USER}.tar
            backup-{BACKUP-DATE_TIME}_{USER}.tar.gz
    
    The files must be in one of these directories on the server:      /home, /home2, /home3, /root, /usr, /usr/home, /web
    
    You must upload the file to one of the above locations beforeusing this feature.root@abc12345 [/home/websute91]#
    
    --------------
    
    When i type in dir, I can clearly see that the zip file is there, can anyone suggest where I am going wrong, so annoying for something so small.

    Rio
     
  3. PlotHost

    PlotHost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    US
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    What's the issue/error ?
     
  4. Greenhost

    Greenhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. malhyp

    malhyp Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Thanks for the replies, the problem we are having is that the backup is not being sent, the message above shows that no file was found to restore. Reading online you get so many variations and speaking with the host they also down know what to do with this so struggeling to get any asnwers at the moment.

    I have discovered that we can do the following, also yes we have access to WHM but the accounts we are copying over do not have whm access.

    This is what we are doing.

    a) Logging into the old cPanel account and creating a backup using FTP Passive Mode Transfer
    b) entering a) new ip address b)user and password of the old cpanel account c) 21 and d) / or /home
    c) we do the backup, email is sent.
    d) we log into our new whm account looking for the backup under Restore A Backup/Cpanel Move and the backup is not there.
    e) I open up Putty, have a look and can not see the backups there.

    My assumption is that the backups are being done but they are being sent to never never land, somewhere in the internet.

    Can anyone correct what I should be doing?

    My assumption is that I do not need to create a new cpanel account as the restore process in whm will create this account for me.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Something that will really help, how to I send the backup from cpanel to whm and allow it to appear in the list of backups available in the Restore a Full Backup/cpmove File option in whm?
     
Loading...

Share This Page