The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with changing nameservers

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by elrossco22, Feb 3, 2011.

  1. elrossco22

    elrossco22 Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi guys im pretty new to cpanel and need some help reagrding changing namesevers.

    Currently in my whm i have the following nameservers

    ns0.whatparts.com
    ns1.whatparts.com
    ns2.whatpart.com

    i want to keep the ip's however i want the domain inwhich they resolve from to be

    ns0.cmsguys.co.uk
    ns1.cmsguys.co.uk
    ns2.cmsguys.co.uk

    How do i do this also how to i change the hostname from server1.whatparts.com to server1.cmsguys.co.uk

    Regards Ross McFadyen
     
  2. LinuxTechie

    LinuxTechie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Ross,

    You can change the hostname of the server from:

    WHM >> Networking Setup >> Change Hostname

    You can change the name servers of the server using the below given steps :

    WHM >> Basic cPanel & WHM Setup >> Name servers
     
  3. elrossco22

    elrossco22 Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thank you for your reply however i think i have made what i am trying to do unclear .I do not want to change the deafult name servers for account creation i want to change the domain for the name server

    for example

    ns1.whatparts.com has an ip of 89.26.56.78

    i want the ip (89.26.56.78) nolonger to point to ns1.whatparts.com but to point to ns1.cmsguys.co.uk

    how can this be achieved

    regards ross
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Ross,

    Have you already registered those IPs with the new nameserver names? If you have, then simply go to WHM > Basic cPanel & WHM Setup area to the nameservers section. Change the names for the nameservers there to the new names, then click "Add an A entry for this nameserver" button. This will open with an IP already listed most likely. If the IP isn't the one you want to use, change the IP to the right one, then click the "Add Entry" button. Do this for each nameserver.

    It doesn't matter if the old nameservers are still in the zone file for the old domain. You can either leave those old nameservers there until everything propagates to the new nameservers or you can remove the nameserver entries in the zone file in WHM > Edit a DNS Zone area.

    Thanks.
     
  5. elrossco22

    elrossco22 Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    no i havent registered the new nameservers with the ips how do i go about doing this ?
     
  6. markb14391

    markb14391 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Two comments:

    Actually, think of this in reverse. The IP doesn't point to the host name. Instead, the hostname points to the IP. Thus, multiple hostnames can point to the same IP. So you can leave the current designations in place until things propagate...it's fine to have multiple hostnames pointing to a single IP.

    This needs to be done at your domain registrar. Many of them have a control panel where you can do this. It's often called "Register a nameserver" or something like that, depending on which registrar you use.
     
  7. elrossco22

    elrossco22 Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Does knowone understand what i want to do. I shall revise it yet again

    I currently nameserver which points to an ip

    ns1.domain.com = 89.56.29.23

    I now want to change the nameserver to be the following

    ns1.otherdomain.com = 89.56.29.23

    How can this be achieved

    Regards Ross
     
  8. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Ross,

    I've explained how to change it in WHM in my initial post. You need to do it in WHM > Basic cPanel & WHM Setup area and then enter the new nameserver name there and click the button "Add an A entry for this nameserver" You are welcome to re-read my prior post on the exact steps I noted there on exactly what to do for the new nameserver names and IPs.

    For anything that is not WHM or cPanel, this is outside what we control. Please contact the domain registrar (where you purchased the domain) to find out how to register the new nameservers with that registrar.

    Thanks.
     
  9. markb14391

    markb14391 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    All the answers are above. :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page