Siscoo

Registered
Dec 29, 2005
4
0
151
Guys i know this is a really really newbie kwestion but i need help where would i put the HTML code for my homepage?
 

Siscoo

Registered
Dec 29, 2005
4
0
151
ok

Ok but where under public_html
 

Izzee

Well-Known Member
Feb 6, 2004
469
0
166
Siscoo said:
Ok but where under public_html
You should really be asking your hosting provider these questions via a support request. These forums are for cPanel licence holders to help each other out. Normally a hosting company has an FAQ on their web site that addresses most of these account setup questions for you.

However, this is your web root directory that is served to a browser when your url is entered in the address bar so all files and directories go in here that are available to the public.

/public_html/index.html
/public_html/images/yourimages.jpg

Get the picture?

:)
 
Last edited:

david510

Well-Known Member
Aug 22, 2004
473
0
166
Hello Siscoo,

Were you able to produce the webpage. :)

----->>Guys i know this is a really really newbie kwestion but i need help where would i put the HTML code for my homepage?

Make sure you always ask questions related to cpanel issues. General questions like this one should have easily answered with anyone of the webhosting companies tutorial section.

David
 

Siscoo

Registered
Dec 29, 2005
4
0
151
sorta :/

i kinda figured it out i mean i realized i had to save the html as Index.html to make it the "homepage" then i edited it and put it back in and now its showing the directory again and the 1st thing you see under "back to parental directory" is Index.html so i dont see why its not actually showing as my homepage anymore.. :( this is so confusing i went from freewebs to writing my own html for a .com :P its a little complicated still i made sure the file was set as a HTML file and that it wasnt spelled wrong and its under Public_html and still it wont set :( i just wish it would work :eek: :eek: :eek:
 

Izzee

Well-Known Member
Feb 6, 2004
469
0
166
In a *nix server environment all files are case sensitive as opposed to Windoze which allows a bit more freedom for errors.

Index.html is a different file to index.html

So rename it to index.html lowercase i and it might work for you this time.

:)
 

Siscoo

Registered
Dec 29, 2005
4
0
151
:D thank you!

Wow thx didnt think of that


[edit]
YAY it worked im so happpy!! thx so much :D :D now to link it to a page all i have to do is put a link on the main page leading to www.yourdomain.com/thefile.html <--- thx much and sorry for posting in the wrong forums... :cool:
 
Last edited: