The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with default name servers for reseller accounts

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by coopoli, Jan 30, 2014.

  1. coopoli

    coopoli Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi
    We want to use this setup for our VPS server with 50 IP's:

    -root

    --reseller1
    ---cpanel
    ----add-on domain1
    ----add-on domain2
    ----add-on domain3

    --reseller2
    ---cpanel
    ----add-on domain1
    ----add-on domain2
    ----add-on domain3

    --reseller3
    ---cpanel
    ----add-on domain1
    ----add-on domain2
    ----add-on domain3

    Note: We will not assign a domain to the root WHM, only use the IP to login. So, the default name servers in the Basic settings is ns1.test.com and ns2.test.com

    However, when we create a new reseller account we assign a dedicated IP and change the name servers in Home »Resellers »Edit Reseller Nameservers and Privileges to IE. ns1.server1.com and ns2.server1.com and assign IP adressen to those name servers. All is fine so far...

    But, when we login to reseller1's cpanel (as in the above example) and create an add-on domain the domains name servers are the WHM basic name servers (ns1.test.com and ns2.test.com) when looking in Home »DNS Functions »Edit DNS Zone.
    Is there a setting to make the reseller account auto assign it's private name servers to every new created add-on domain?

    Thanks!
     
  2. cPanelPeter

    cPanelPeter Technical Analyst III
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Each reseller has their own WHM and therefore their own Basic Setup. So each reseller can log on (or you can do so for them) and set the name servers accordingly for them.

    Hope that helps.
     
  3. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You don't "assign a domain to the root WHM", your VPS has a hostname, and you can use that to connect to your server and login.



    By default the reseller account itself is owned by root, and probably that's why it has the default name servers.

    cPanel reseller accounts get their own WHM and they can create cPanel accounts, those accounts are owned by the reseller and they should have the name servers as configured in that reseller's settings.

    I can not understand that kind of setup you described where resellers have one cPanel account and the resold accounts as addon domains.
     
  4. coopoli

    coopoli Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi
    Thanks for the replies

    It's only going to be our sites on this VPS. Thats why we want to have around 3-5 websites per reseller/cpanel. What i've heard is that we need to create a reseller account to dedicate an IP address, and the following add-on domains will have the same IP.

    Maybe this is totally wrong from our side, i don't know. Cause we've been on shared hosting the last 10 years we have little knowledge in setting up proper accounts/cpanels/add-on domains with dedicated IP addresses...

    Thanks!
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    651
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Yes, it's acceptable to setup a reseller account with it's own shared IP address that is used for accounts created beneath it.

    Thank you.
     
  6. coopoli

    coopoli Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,
    Great! But why does the reseller account use the root's name servers when creating an add-on domain within a reseller account, even after i change the name servers for the reseller in my WHM?

    Thanks!

     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    651
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Make sure you modify the default name servers for the resellers via:

    "WHM Home » Server Configuration » Basic cPanel & WHM Setup"

    I was unable to reproduce the behavior you described on a test server. The DNS zone showed the correct entries for new addon domain names after modifying the default name servers for the reseller. Could you let us know which version of cPanel is installed on your system?

    Code:
    cat /usr/local/cpanel/version
    Thank you.
     
  8. coopoli

    coopoli Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I might be on to something now...

    I tried this setup. Please let me know if it's totally wrong

    root -> reseller account(no dedicated IP only private name server) -> account (no reseller only dedicated IP and inherit name servers from reseller account) -> add-on domain.

    Whit this setup i get the add-on domain to use the private name servers from the reseller account.

    Thanks!
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    651
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am happy see it's working well for you now. However, note that the delegation of an IP address to a reseller account should have no bearing on whether new addon domain names use the reseller name servers.

    Thank you.
     
  10. coopoli

    coopoli Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It seems that the reseller account created by the root is using the roots name severs by default.

    Is there a way to choose private name servers during creation of an account or is the only way to set private name servers to go to Home »DNS Functions »Edit DNS Zone and change name servers here and on Home »Resellers »Edit Reseller Nameservers and Privileges?

    Thanks for the quick replies :)
     
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    651
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, it's normal to see the default name servers configured by the "root" user assigned to resellers at first. Otherwise, no name servers would be configured for use with the reseller. It's important to always use "WHM Home » Resellers » Edit Reseller Nameservers and Privileges" after making an account a reseller so that you setup it's privileges and enter custom name servers if desired.

    Thank you.
     
  12. coopoli

    coopoli Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ok, cool. No problem!

    I noticed that can change the name servers in Home »Resellers »Edit Reseller Nameservers and Privileges. Is it necessary to change name servers both in here and in Home »DNS Functions »Edit DNS Zone?

    Last question:
    When creating a new reseller account i can tick a box asking for dedicated IP (I have 50 IP's so i want to tick this box). Is that enough or do i have to assign IP addresses in Home »Resellers »Edit Reseller Nameservers and Privileges as well. Or shall i manually add the dedicated IP from the creation of the account by clicking the button "Add an A entry for this name server"?

    This is really confusing for me...

    Thanks!
     
  13. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    651
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You would only use the "Edit DNS Zone" option for existing domain names that were created before you modified the default name servers. New accounts/addon domain names created after the default name servers were changed should already have the correct name servers in the DNS Zone.

    No, if you want to ensure the reseller account is delegated it's own IP address that's used for accounts created under it, then assign that IP address to it via:

    "WHM Home » Resellers » Manage Reseller’s Shared IP"

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page