Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Help with FTPS

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by freakymet, Feb 13, 2014.

  1. freakymet

    freakymet Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello Boys!

    Using WHM 11.40.1

    Having difficulty connecting to cPanel with FTPS using a virtual FTP user. I have configured the FTP Server as follows:

    TLS Encryption Support: Optional

    Using Filezilla as follows:

    Host: abc.com
    Port: (leaving blank for default)
    Protocol: FTP - File Transfer Protocol
    Encryption: Require implicit over TLS


    Have tried various settings but nothing seems to work (do not want to use SFTP).

    Have a client that insists on using FTPS.


    Tricia
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,802
    Likes Received:
    1,895
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    What error message do you receive when attempting to connect with FileZilla?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. freakymet

    freakymet Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Thank you for your quick response.

    Filezilla gives no error message. Does not connect to the server (normal FTP works fine).
     
  4. CitizenK

    CitizenK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    On The Road
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Can you try using the port 990, and ensure that the server has the ports 990 and 989 open.
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,802
    Likes Received:
    1,895
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Under transfer settings, and transfer mode, ensure passive mode is enabled. Also, try temporarily disabling the firewall on your server to rule it out as the cause of the problem.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. freakymet

    freakymet Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi - yes, ports 990/989 are open, but if I telnet to those ports as a test, then the connection is refused, indicating nothing is listening on them.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Hi Michael, tried passive and active modes - same problem. The server is in production with client websites, so disabling the firewall - even temporarily - is out of the question :(

    Reminder: I can connect to the server using normal FTP. Correct me if I'm wrong, but doesn't FTPS imply connecting on the standard 20/21 ports, followed by AUTH TLS/AUTH SSL command to switch to encryption? Or are there some specific/other ports I'm supposed to open for FTPS besides 20/21?
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,802
    Likes Received:
    1,895
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    There are additional ports that might be required when using passive mode. Feel free to open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can attempt to reproduce this issue. You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,436
    Likes Received:
    416
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    In your cPanel > Files section > FTP Accounts (I assume this is where you've setup a secondary FTP account) you should see the account listed here. To the far right side is a link to: "Configure FTP Client" When you click thru here you've got multiple ways to go, that include instructions on how to configure multiple FTP clients, including, Filezilla.

    Under the Filezilla icon, is a link titled "Instructions". The link just above, is to a file. Click and download that, and then click thru to read the Instructions.

    And then let us know how it goes. Thanks.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice