The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help with getting zend and ioncube working

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by PPNSteve, Oct 25, 2007.

  1. PPNSteve

    PPNSteve Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Somewhere in Ilex Forest
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    just did a apache 2 build with php4 and php5 and both ioncube and zend fail. ionCube is the real priority here as a few of our clients NEED it as well as it's set to be used by cPanel as well.

    What i'm looking for is a detailed how-to or step-by-step guide on how to get it installed and running correctly.

    currently its noted in the php.ini correctly but fails to load anywhere (local dl'd ones fail as well for some reason).

    php -v returns:
    /usr/local/Zend/lib/ZendExtensionManager.so doesn't appear to be a valid Zend extension
    PHP 5.2.4 (cli) (built: Oct 25 2007 05:08:27)
    Copyright (c) 1997-2007 The PHP Group
    Zend Engine v2.2.0, Copyright (c) 1998-2007 Zend Technologies

    php -m returns:
    /usr/local/Zend/lib/ZendExtensionManager.so doesn't appear to be a valid Zend extension
    [PHP Modules]
    bcmath
    calendar
    ctype
    curl
    date
    dom
    filter
    ftp
    gd
    gettext
    hash
    iconv
    imap
    json
    libxml
    mbstring
    mysql
    openssl
    pcre
    PDO
    pdo_sqlite
    posix
    pspell
    Reflection
    session
    SimpleXML
    sockets
    SPL
    SQLite
    standard
    tokenizer
    xml
    xmlreader
    xmlrpc
    xmlwriter
    zlib

    [Zend Modules]


    I need some help here.

    Running WHM 11.11.0 cPanel 11.15.0-R17665
    REDHAT Enterprise 3 i686 on standard - WHM X v3.1.0

    example URL: http://www.flexbb.net/bugs/
    or
    http://www.gamersplatform.com/
     
    #1 PPNSteve, Oct 25, 2007
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2007
  2. mtindor

    mtindor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    inside a catfish
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I wish I had something concrete to show you to confirm my suspicion - but I'm thinking that the reason I stayed at 5.2.3 for my PHP was beacuse there were documented problems with PHP 5.2.4 and either/both Zend and Ioncube.

    So, if I were you, my first step would be to compile in php 5.2.3 instead of 5.2.4 for now and then see if the problem goes away.

    Mike


     
  3. PPNSteve

    PPNSteve Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Somewhere in Ilex Forest
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    i just re-compiled with 5.2.3 and the issues went away.. was gonna update this thread but it seems you beat me to it :p

    root@wobbuffet-202 [/]# php -v
    PHP 5.2.3 (cli) (built: Oct 25 2007 22:43:02)
    Copyright (c) 1997-2007 The PHP Group
    Zend Engine v2.2.0, Copyright (c) 1998-2007 Zend Technologies
    with the ionCube PHP Loader v3.1.32, Copyright (c) 2002-2007, by ionCube Ltd., and
    with Zend Extension Manager v1.2.0, Copyright (c) 2003-2007, by Zend Technologies
    with Zend Optimizer v3.3.0, Copyright (c) 1998-2007, by Zend Technologies


    anyway, it's working /w 5.2.3 for now.. we still need some sort of how2 post or something so others won't run into this issue as well.
     
  4. mtindor

    mtindor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    inside a catfish
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I think in at least one thread on these forums a Cpanel representative mentions that there may be problems with certain extensions working properly with PHP 5.2.4. From my point of view, one needs to substitute may be with are :)

    Glad you got it working. I had read the reference somewhere on the forums just before I attempted a PHP5 compile and went with 5.2.3 the first time around and it worked. I then compiled 5.2.4 just to check, and 5.2.4 would not work with Zend/Ioncube for me either.

    Mike
     
  5. FWC

    FWC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I think "may be" is accurate:
    It's not a universal problem. But, it's good to know if you do get it a downgrade can help. :)
     
  6. Snowman30

    Snowman30 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    anyone aware of this issue with php 5.2.5?

    We have had a couple of servers running apapche 2.2 where the build has failed and there are seg faults relating to the install of ion'

    remove ion and rebuild and the issue goes away
     
Loading...

Share This Page