The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help with mysql please

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rastoma, Feb 9, 2002.

  1. rastoma

    rastoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2001
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I just installed cpanel with testing license.... finally got whm setup and everything seems to be working ok except I get this message when logging into cpanel:

    ERROR 2002: Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock' (2) 0


    I run webmin and start the mysql server and get this error:

    Failed to start database :
    /usr/sbin/mysqld: Too many parameters
    /usr/sbin/mysqld Ver 3.23.45 for pc-linux-gnu on i686
    Use '--help' or '--no-defaults --help' for a list of available options


    This was a clean install of Redhat 7.1

    I hope this is not too general of a question or problem... but what should I try to do first?
     
  2. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    From the shell as root....
    what does /etc/rc.d/init.d/mysql start yield?

    Did the latest version (cpanel compatible) install correctly?
    /scripts/sysup , should bring it to 3.23.45, unless there is some insane error.
     
  3. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    You probably have some invalid stuff in /etc/my.cnf
     
  4. rastoma

    rastoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2001
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thank you both for your assistance... I had replied in another thread about the mysql issue and got it fixed... basically restarting the server and a couple of things... but phpmyadmin just shows a blank white page BUT i can add databases in cpanel so i'm assuming the password is correct.

    And i can't run updatephpmyadmin because it says file is not there but it is.
     
  5. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:2e46953f3c][i:2e46953f3c]Originally posted by rastoma[/i:2e46953f3c]

    Thank you both for your assistance... I had replied in another thread about the mysql issue and got it fixed... basically restarting the server and a couple of things... but phpmyadmin just shows a blank white page BUT i can add databases in cpanel so i'm assuming the password is correct.

    And i can't run updatephpmyadmin because it says file is not there but it is.
    [/quote:2e46953f3c]

    Actually that probably means you have NO password set. You should change it in WHM ASAP.
     
  6. rastoma

    rastoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2001
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:84c268ef28][i:84c268ef28]Originally posted by bdraco[/i:84c268ef28]


    Actually that probably means you have NO password set. You should change it in WHM ASAP.[/quote:84c268ef28]

    Well, phpmyadmin still shows blank white page. I used the mysql reset password in WHM and still shows blank page... BUT now i'm able to run updatephpmyadmin..... when i do it doesn't say anything happened but i didn't get an error.. and of course it still doesn't load afterwards.

    UPDATE.. actually it is trying to do something when i ran updatephpmyadmin:

    ./updatephpmyadmin
    root@localhost [/usr/local/cpanel/bin]# Connection Timeout at whostmgr/bin/whostmgrd.pl line 303.

    and it just sits there.
     
  7. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Try
    killall -9 portsentry
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/cpanel3 restart

    then try the updatemyphp script.......
    Should finish.

    Then restart portsentry if you'd like
    (/etc/rc.d/init.d/portsentry restart)
     
  8. rastoma

    rastoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2001
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    no errors when updating phpmyadmin but it doesn't say anything at all.. i just enter: ./updatephpmyadmin and instantly goes to next line... tried running phpmyadmin and still get blank screen.
     
  9. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:6b58919970][i:6b58919970]Originally posted by rastoma[/i:6b58919970]

    no errors when updating phpmyadmin but it doesn't say anything at all.. i just enter: ./updatephpmyadmin and instantly goes to next line... tried running phpmyadmin and still get blank screen.

    [/quote:6b58919970]

    Email me the login info for your server ( I can send you my gpg key if you like)
    I'll fix it for you..
     
Loading...

Share This Page