The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with nameservers WHM

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by HongKongKilla, Nov 21, 2007.

1. HongKongKilla

HongKongKilla Member

Well I just got a new dedicated server and I'm fairly new to setting them up. I've read a bunch of tutorials but I don't see the answer or I'm just not understanding it.

My problem is I have a domain, registered through Yahoo, and I don't know what to my nameservers to. I put the name server to ns1.mydomain.com and it assigned the ip on the box and then when I try to change my nameservers on yahoo it gives me an error. I just want to put that domain assigned to the box so I don't have to manually put the ip anymore.

Any help will be greatly appreciated :D

sorry if this question was asked I just dont know if I'm just completely missing something or what :confused:

2. MaraBlue

MaraBlue Well-Known Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    A little more info would be good. When you change your nameserver information on Yahoo, what is the error it gives?

Do you have the domain set up as a nameserver with Yahoo? (I've never known anyone who used Yahoo to reg a domain, so I'm unfamiliar how they work). I know with eNom you need to set up the IP/domain as a nameserver, basically register it as a nameserver.

If you could provide what information you're putting where, and what error message you get back, it would be easier for someone to help.

3. Tam

Tam Well-Known Member