The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP with SSL

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mm1250, Dec 2, 2006.

  1. mm1250

    mm1250 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello all,

    I jsut got my Cpanel server yesterday and I have a little road bump trying to get these SSL sites working.

    Can someone tell me if i'm doing something wrong...

    1. I first make sure the setup dedicated IP for the site.

    2. Login to sites CPanel. I goto SSL manager and create a private key

    3. Goto Certificate Signing CSR and generate a certificate signing CSR. I take code it has generated and I use that when I buy my certificate at GeoTrust.

    4. After getting my Geotrust CSR, I went back in and clicked Certfiicates (CSR). And pasted the Geotrust Cert in there and clicked upload. it says done.

    When I goto my SSL Site. https://xxxxxx.com it doens't show anything. It just says in my IE7 browser "Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage".

    What am I doing wrong?? I read the Cpanel SSL Doc and followed it as instructed .. http://www.cpanel.net/docs/cpanel/Trusted_Certificates.htm

    I'm not sure but when I goto http://www.domain.com/cpanel It fowards to the secured site but it seems to be using the CPanel/WHM cert.

    Someone Please Help me.
     
  2. Kelmas

    Kelmas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Are you sure you paste it at Web SSL/TLS section of WHM?
     
  3. celliott

    celliott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Check that port 143 and 443 is opened in your firewall.
     
  4. mm1250

    mm1250 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I didn't configure anything in WHM. I did this all from the domain's Cpanel section. Do I also have to configure this in WHM?
     
  5. Kelmas

    Kelmas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Well I personally install SSL certificates using WHM.
     
Loading...

Share This Page