The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with WHM needed

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sunsystems, Aug 15, 2008.

  1. sunsystems

    sunsystems Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    In WHM I have 4 sub accounts created in for my clients, is there a way that I can login to any of the four sub accounts in WHM directly (example http://subaccount1.com/whm) without login into the main account first please let me know how to do this ???
     
  2. DaveUsedToWorkHere

    DaveUsedToWorkHere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Sure. You can log into any WHM account with the account's username and the server's root password.
     
  3. sunsystems

    sunsystems Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    server's root password

    Thank you but how do I get the server's root password :confused:, will my service provider give it easily to me??.:(
     
  4. Rickvz

    Rickvz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Do you mean you want to log into the subaccount's cpanel? Only your main account has WHM as it sounds like you are on a reseller account. You would have to have a dedicated server to have access to the root password.

    You can log into your client's cPanel by using your password for your main account and going to subaccount.com/cpanel.
     
  5. sunsystems

    sunsystems Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yes I am on reseller account and I want to login into any of my sub accounts directly that I have created in WHM (I have 4 sub accounts in WHM) using http://subaccount1.com/whm. Is this possible then how. My service provider tell me use the sub account password that I have set but that does not work. Why will he give me the server root password. I do not want to login to the cpanel I want to login to WHM.:confused:
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,453
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You might go back to your provider and ask him to clarify for you. Sounds like theres a bit of confusion here I'm sure he can help you with.
     
  7. sunsystems

    sunsystems Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Surprised that no one is willing to answer my query. If I had to get any help from my service provider, would I have asked this question here ???
     
  8. Rickvz

    Rickvz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Your query is confusing. These forums are for support of cPanel and WHM for license holders. You should contact your hosting provider for help with this issue as different hosts will set up what is available. If you do not have a dedicated server then you should contact your hosting company.

    If you have a reseller account then you generally will only have WHM access to your main account. All other accounts are managed through either the WHM for your main account or the cPanel of the individual accounts. You can log into your main account using http://maindomain.com/whm and then under the List Accounts option click on the cPanel icon to get into the cPanel of the individual account. You can also use your main account username and password to log into any account using http://individualdomain.com/cpanel (not /whm).
     
  9. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,453
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    But you did ask him first:



    cPanel for the customer is not the same as WHM for the server administrator.

    So, when you ask:

    The answer is No. Not unless all 4 of your sub accounts are resellers (and have access to WHM)

    I think you may be naming things incorrectly and therein is the confusion.

    Let's assume you have a reseller account, and you've created 4 new hosting accounts under your reseller account.

    yourdomain.com <- the reseller

    -hisdomain.com
    -herdomain.com
    -mydomain.com
    -itsdomain.com

    As the reseller (and, if the option is enabled in WHM by your provider) these should work.

    yourdomain.com/whm <- the reseller

    -hisdomain.com/cpanel
    -herdomain.com/cpanel
    -mydomain.com/cpanel
    -itsdomain.com/cpanel

    Because you are a reseller, your provider is the one you ask for assistance from. If they can't assist, spend your money elsewhere and find a new reseller provider.
     
Loading...

Share This Page