The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hepl needed, deleting DNS zone on WHM

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by mrengland, Oct 15, 2011.

  1. mrengland

    mrengland Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    when terminating an account on my WHM i checked the "keep dns zone" box and now cannot create the account again or delete the dns zone, im a bit of a novice on this and would apprieciate a litlle bit of help, thanks
     
  2. mrengland

    mrengland Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    could anyone help me??
     
  3. ModServ

    ModServ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Egypt
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can delete the DNS Zone from WHM >> Delete a DNS Zone >> Choose then click Delete

    What's the issue you've after doing these steps?
     
  4. mrengland

    mrengland Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    when i try this is doesnt show the domain im tring to delete in the list.
     
  5. ModServ

    ModServ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Egypt
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please execute this command and post the output:

    PHP:
    ls -lh /var/named/DOMAIN.COM.db
    Replace DOMAIN.COM only with your domain name and extension.
     
  6. mrengland

    mrengland Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    hi, thanks for the reply, as i said im a novice at this, where do i execute that command?? thanks
     
    #6 mrengland, Oct 16, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2011
  7. ModServ

    ModServ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Egypt
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can execute it through SSH or Shell Access using the program "putty"
     
  8. mrengland

    mrengland Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    hi just tried to do that but i dont have shell accsess enable on my account, so i have contacted the company that i purchased the reseller account from and they are sorting it there side. thanks for all your help ModServ.
     
  9. ModServ

    ModServ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Egypt
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Glad to hear that.

    You welcome anytime :)
     
  10. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Of note, if you want to remove an account to recreate it, you would not want to check "keep dns zone" box since that will prevent recreating the account. The only time the DNS zone should be kept is when you are moving an account between servers in a cluster and need the DNS zone to be moved to the new server.
     

Share This Page