The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hidden Subdomains

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by maxihost2, Sep 12, 2005.

  1. maxihost2

    maxihost2 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello,

    I use cPanel and I would like to make a configuration like this:

    Set up five subdomains under each VirtualHost like:

    http://host1.customerswebsite.com
    http://host2.customerswebsite.com
    http://host3.customerswebsite.com
    http://host4.customerswebsite.com
    http://host5.customerswebsite.com

    And redirect those subdomains to another site called http://www.secondsite.com

    Although I dont want these domain names listed under Customers cPanel and if they ever set up a subdomain name called http://host1.customerswebsite.com to redirect to another site, will override my previous configuration.

    Is this technically possible ?

    Thank you :)
     
  2. shashank

    shashank Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Make manual entries for the subdomains in httpd.conf and redirect it to wherever you want. I am not sure how cpanel will be prevented from creating a subdomain of the same name after this arrangement.
     
  3. aby

    aby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India

    i don't think cpanel will allow you to add subdomains of the same name after you have manually set it.
     
  4. jogjabox

    jogjabox Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    You can create subdomain separately from the domain, just create a new account with http://host1.customerswebsite.com and so on, from WHM (instead from cpanel).

    HTH
     
  5. maxihost2

    maxihost2 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I was thinking about entering an * entry for all the domains, so when anything before the domain is called it redirect to another page.

    So, http://anything.domain.com will go to http://www.site.com (or an IP)

    How can I add this into all my DNS entries ?
     
Loading...

Share This Page