The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hiding Primary Domain Directory

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Anthony Brian Mallgren, Nov 15, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Anthony Brian Mallgren

    Anthony Brian Mallgren Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
    While I agree a domain properly labeled, 'primary', I am unsure in how I may hide this directory in File Manager.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    36,999
    Likes Received:
    1,275
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Could you provide some more details on this question? For instance, are you attempting to hide a directory name in File Manager?

    Thank you.
     
  3. Anthony Brian Mallgren

    Anthony Brian Mallgren Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
    Dear cPanelMichael,

    godaddy.com/help/change-your-accounts-domain-16163 seeming unlike godaddy.com/help/change-a-secondary-domains-root-folder-8535, though when I add a prefixed '.' in "Web root directory", seemingly fails rendering.

    Not sure reason in exposing production directory in development interface.

    Regards,

    Anthony Brian Mallgren
     
    #3 Anthony Brian Mallgren, Nov 17, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 21, 2016
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    36,999
    Likes Received:
    1,275
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Could you attach a screenshot to this thread that shows what you are referring to?

    Thanks!
     
  5. Anthony Brian Mallgren

    Anthony Brian Mallgren Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
    Dear cPanelMichael,

    Screenshot 2016-11-20 at 9.55.31 PM.png

    In development user interface, attempting hiding public_html.

    Regards,

    Anthony Brian Mallgren
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,618
    Likes Received:
    296
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Could you please expand on this question more? Your comments here so far are unclear.
     
  7. Anthony Brian Mallgren

    Anthony Brian Mallgren Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
    Dear Infopro,

    I use cPanel mostly for development; an exception, troubleshooting production. As a development environment, since there are multiple copies, I am wondering how I may hide public_html. Hosted, seems public_html forced for primary domain.

    Developing, I would like something similar permission trimming, where production (public_html) is hidden unless revealed through the show hidden files option when opening File Manager.

    I have mistakenly open a production file with development intent.

    Regards,

    Anthony Brian Mallgren
     
  8. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,618
    Likes Received:
    296
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You are able to password protect the public_html via your cPanel.
     
  9. Anthony Brian Mallgren

    Anthony Brian Mallgren Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
    Dear Infopro,

    Wondering password protection instruction.

    Regards,

    Anthony Brian Mallgren
     
  10. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,618
    Likes Received:
    296
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  11. Anthony Brian Mallgren

    Anthony Brian Mallgren Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
  12. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,618
    Likes Received:
    296
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    This is a basic option for all cPanel accounts. Do you not have option available in your cPanel?

    If no, can you tell me what version of cPanel your server is running?
     
Loading...

Share This Page