The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

High CPU load caused by ClamAV. Is it set under crontab?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by SuperBaby, Feb 6, 2007.

  1. SuperBaby

    SuperBaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Thailand
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
    Everyday when I check the CPU usage under WHM, I will get these 3 processes occupying the top 3 positions. It seems that this process is run 3 times a day.

    The only ClamAV-related crontab that I have (as far as I know) is the virus file update which is conducted twice a day. What ClamAV activities are these?

     
  2. jbgama

    jbgama Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    In ConfigServer MailScanner Front-End change:

    # This *cannot* be the filename of a ruleset.

    Virus Scanners = clamav

    to

    Virus Scanners = clamavmodule
     
  3. SuperBaby

    SuperBaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Thailand
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
    I changed as suggested but I stopped receiving mails. Change it back to "clamav" and it works again. Why?
     
  4. WhiteBear

    WhiteBear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello SuperBaby,

    Do you obtained to fix the problem with ClamAV?

    I have exactly problem.

    Top Process %CPU 153 /usr/local/bin/clamscan --unzip --jar --tar --tgz --deb --max-ratio500 --tempdir/tmp/clamav.638 -r --no-summary --stdout .
    Top Process %CPU 150 /usr/local/bin/clamscan --unzip --jar --tar --tgz --deb --max-ratio500 --tempdir/tmp/clamav.18031 -r --no-summary --stdout .
    Top Process %CPU 109 /usr/local/bin/clamscan --unzip --jar --tar --tgz --deb --max-ratio500 --tempdir/tmp/clamav.26293 -r --no-summary --stdout .

    Thanks,

    WhiteBear
     
  5. orty

    orty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bend, Oregon
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can't just change it to clamavmodule unless the perl module is indeed installed -- which is probably why things didn't work when you reinstalled.

    If you want to run on the clamavmodule, you need to make sure its installed by running this command at root:

    /scripts/perlinstaller --force Mail::ClamAV

    Then you should be able to change your scanner to clamavmodule.

    I had issues with MailScanner, cPanel 11, and a perl upgrade, and it totally hosing my mailscanner install. I basically had to fully reinstall all the Mailscanner required perl libraries, reinstall mailscanner, and then reinstall clamav.

    Read about the mess here. Or, honestly, pay the ConfigServer.com folks to do it for you, if you don't know what you're doing, as they're good folks and do great work.
     
  6. WhiteBear

    WhiteBear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thank you for your assistence.

    WhiteBear
     
Loading...

Share This Page