The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

High load issues

Discussion in 'Workarounds and Optimization' started by pjd2003, Jan 19, 2010.

  1. pjd2003

    pjd2003 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    We too have some bad high load issues since the move to 11.25 release.
    Does anyone know if rolling back to 11.24 STABLE resolves the issues?
     
  2. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Friendly Moderator Note

    To prevent confusion your message has been split into a new thread as detailed in the following post: cPanel Forums - View Single Post - cPanelDon
     
  3. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
  4. patchwork

    patchwork Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm having exactly the same issue since upgrading to 11.25, the server was running very smoothly for months, now it crashes with VERY high loads every day or every other day.
     
  5. pjd2003

    pjd2003 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes - there is definitely some kind of problem with 11.25 - on servers that we upgraded, load is ridiculously high at times, and as the previous poster says - our servers were running fine for a long time, then suddenly catastrophic load issues after 11.25.
     
  6. pjman

    pjman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2003
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York
    A Log Processing Issue

    It's a log process issue. They should release a patch soon.

    11.24 never did Apache Restarts.
     
  7. wjdennen

    wjdennen Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    If you're running the version of eAccelerator that comes with cpanel 11.25, you might want to disable it! That version has problems, which cause high load on the server.
     
  8. pjd2003

    pjd2003 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks - how can we check this?
     
  9. ChrisRHS

    ChrisRHS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    From an ssh terminal, show the output of this command:

    php -v

    If you have it loaded in, it will tell your the version you are running.

    Chris
     
  10. wjdennen

    wjdennen Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Version 0.9.6-rc1 has the problem. More about the bug: #368 (hung httpd threads with high page request rates) - eAccelerator - Trac

    There is some very useful info here on downgrading eaccelerator:

    SolidServers.ca » Blog Archive » Downgrading eAccelerator – cPanel

    For what it's worth, I re-ran EasyApache and disabled eAccelerator. Then I followed the directions in the article above to install the older version of eAccelerator. Since doing that, my problems have not returned.

    You can also just disable eAccelerator. These instructions might help: http://www.cpanel.net/documentation/easyapache/ea3php_php_extensionmgr.html
     
    #10 wjdennen, Feb 5, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2010
  11. pjd2003

    pjd2003 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    We do not use eAccelerator but still have the problems.
     
  12. nightfall_sg

    nightfall_sg Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Same thing here, eAccelerator is not installed but we are still having this HTTPD load issue.

     
  13. pjman

    pjman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2003
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York
    I'm happy to report...

    Ever since the latest Release version came live: Release 43252

    I have had no more load issues at all. I didn't even make tweaks on three of the four boxes I was having trouble with. Looks like Cpanel got it right. At least from my view.
     
  14. nightfall_sg

    nightfall_sg Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The latest Linux release is not

    RELEASE
    11.25.0-RELEASE_43277
    (Sat Feb 6 20:26:14 2010) ??

     
  15. pjman

    pjman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2003
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York
    From 43252 on.

    The problem is gone in the latest version too. But I noticed all problems stopped when they first made the change to 43252.
     
  16. ljesh

    ljesh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Can someone confirm the problem is really gone in 43252?
    I updated to 43252 3 days ago, for 3 days apache was fine, and today this issue re-appeared.
     
  17. pjman

    pjman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2003
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York
    Everything is good on my three.

    All three servers and the 2 VPS I manage are back to normal with the latest release version. I did notice that after they moved to 43286 Release version a lot of clean up of logs was done. I'm not sure if they compacted old logs or what, but about 3-4 Gigs decrease in the log directories of all servers and VPS.
     
  18. ljesh

    ljesh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    pjman, for how long is good (what is apache uptime)?
    I'm asking because on my server it was good for 3 days and 6 hours, and this issue came back. 2 freezing high (high like 200, not like 1.68) loads in a day :/
     
  19. pjman

    pjman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2003
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York
    My Apache uptime.

    I'm at about 2 Days of uptime now on most of them. 2 of the dedicated servers have been up since the the latest release was issued (3 days). All is stable. Sorry to hear your having trouble. Have you isolated it to being an Apache issue?
     
  20. alexbn

    alexbn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same issue here ! 19 days uptime and now after a real load (after a newsletter) the server somtime go in high load in few seconds (50+). If apache don't resume the locked processes the server become unvailable from the web!!!! the solution is only an hard reset of the server to regain control! :(
    Our server has only one account that runs Magento Commerce that is known is not very light....i'm desperate...

    Tnx
    Alex

    cPanel 11.25.0-R43473 - WHM 11.25.0 - X 3.9
    CENTOS 5.4 x86_64 standard on host
     
    #20 alexbn, Feb 22, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2010
Loading...

Share This Page